Restoring factory default settings on my Roland D-20

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
d20
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 11:35 pm

Restoring factory default settings on my Roland D-20

Post by d20 » Mon Nov 06, 2006 11:45 pm

I just bought my first synth after months and months of research, it's a 1988 Roland D-20 and i got it for a bargain. :D
The guy i bought it from gave me a ROM card that goes into the expansion at the back of the synth.
I put the card in and loaded it into the system. It has a totally new bank of original and experimental sounds which are cool.
Just one small problem, i forgot to backup the default patches/timbres to a 3.5" floppy disk!
So now i have all these new sounds on it but i have lost my old default sounds. I miss my organs and honky tonky sounds.
Please help. I have studied the owner's manual intensively and thoroughly and it does not mention anything about restoring to factory defaults.
Does anyone know if it is possible to find a download on the net that has all the default D-20 patches that can be copied to a floppydisk and then loaded into the synth?
Please help me!!!

User avatar
Maschinengeist
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 1448
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 3:42 pm
Real name: Steph. J
Gear: Multimeter
Frequency Counter
Oscilloscope
Signal Generator
Logic Probe
and more stuff
Band: Cybernetik
Location: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Post by Maschinengeist » Tue Nov 07, 2006 12:04 am

HOLD WRITE + PRESS SYSTEM. PRESS ENTER TWICE.
-------------------------------------------------------------------
MuzikElektronix.com
Music electronics repair & More
Help? See TechZone
Parts? email!
Service Manuals?+/-2000 documents!
Sorry, they aren't free
Now on FACEBOOK: "Muzik Elektronix"

User avatar
DX
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 237
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2005 1:29 pm
Location: Spain. Europe.

Post by DX » Tue Nov 07, 2006 1:56 am

Warning!!!!!
Doing that, you will reset all the factory values, not the factory sounds.

AFAIK (I think I read it on Roland website) you won't recover preset sounds pressing any button. You should have to dump the factory preset sysex file into your D20. You can find it on the net, and also a MIDI OX editor which works fine to do that job.

Maybe I have that file in my computer, I loaded it once in my D10 (same as yours except it has not sequencer or floppy unit).

regards :)
Roland Promars, E-mu EMAX and some other machines...

User avatar
Maschinengeist
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 1448
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 3:42 pm
Real name: Steph. J
Gear: Multimeter
Frequency Counter
Oscilloscope
Signal Generator
Logic Probe
and more stuff
Band: Cybernetik
Location: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Post by Maschinengeist » Tue Nov 07, 2006 2:09 am

:oops:

I read factory reset instead of factory sounds. My apologies.
-------------------------------------------------------------------
MuzikElektronix.com
Music electronics repair & More
Help? See TechZone
Parts? email!
Service Manuals?+/-2000 documents!
Sorry, they aren't free
Now on FACEBOOK: "Muzik Elektronix"

d20
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 11:35 pm

Post by d20 » Tue Nov 07, 2006 4:28 am

DX wrote:Warning!!!!!
Doing that, you will reset all the factory values, not the factory sounds.

AFAIK (I think I read it on Roland website) you won't recover preset sounds pressing any button. You should have to dump the factory preset sysex file into your D20. You can find it on the net, and also a MIDI OX editor which works fine to do that job.

Maybe I have that file in my computer, I loaded it once in my D10 (same as yours except it has not sequencer or floppy unit).

regards :)
If you could give me that file that would be a big help.
It is the only option, so it seems.

User avatar
DX
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 237
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2005 1:29 pm
Location: Spain. Europe.

Post by DX » Wed Nov 08, 2006 2:13 pm

Maschine, don't worry because the thread title can mean both Factory settings or factory sounds :)

I warned d20 because the factory settings reset erases all the sounds loaded. Altough It wouln't be a problem because he has the rom card with the sounds.

d20, I will send you the file. Just let me a couple of days because I am out of home. (I still need to find it on my computer)
Then you will only need to dump the sysex with MIDI OX or some midi editor like it, and voilá!.
Please send me a PM with the email address you want to receive it.

Regards.
Roland Promars, E-mu EMAX and some other machines...

TAV
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 2:22 pm

Post by TAV » Wed Nov 08, 2006 6:25 pm


d20
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 11:35 pm

Post by d20 » Sun Nov 12, 2006 5:41 am

Thanks Tav!
That link solved my problem.
I knew there was a way to reset the default sounds without needing an external device or files.
Thanks so much, Cheers.
DX - thanks for your help but i don't require it anymore. All it took was holding down the "Tune/Function" and "Write" buttons simultaneously while powering up and now everything is how once was. :D

User avatar
DX
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 237
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2005 1:29 pm
Location: Spain. Europe.

Post by DX » Sun Nov 12, 2006 11:33 pm

Great!
I am very surprised. I never tried that way, but I know folks who did that way, and they told me their sounds were missed.

PS. I am afraid that I was confusing about to recover the original preset settings in case of a new replaced battery. In that case, no reset procedure can recover the presets until you load them into the memory.

:)

Sorry if anyone was confused with my previous answers.
Roland Promars, E-mu EMAX and some other machines...

Post Reply