Page 1 of 1

Yamaha DX21

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 8:29 pm
by Shai
Hello Everyone
I'm new
well i've got this synth
so sometimes when i'm turn it
it is out of tune
and transpose change
so i want to ask
can i do restart to this machine?
or what other options do i've got
thanks a lot

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 10:45 pm
by Strangenono
I think you' re problem comes from the internal battery which can be out of order and needs to be replaced. I'm not sure of that but I had this problem on a dx7 and fixed it with a new battery. Ask other synth explorers to be sure

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 11:38 pm
by Yeti
does that avatar play the whole human video?

PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 7:22 pm
by Strangenono
unfortunately no ... any suggestion about the dx21 problem ?

PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 5:57 am
by braincandy
There is a tuning function on it, so make sure it's @ A-440. The only other explanation I would know of for it to act that way (if it were not just out of tune, but in and out of tune) would be an issue with the internal battery. I would look for the closest Yamaha service center in your area or synth tech, if you're not technically-inclined.

PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 6:40 am
by Yeti
did you check the voltage on the screen? my dx7 has that option, so i am sure you can check the voltage. Getting the battery replaced shouldn't be too much of a hassle.

PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 9:37 pm
by braincandy
I know this might sound ridiculous. but check your portamento value. Weird, but you never know.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2006 12:14 pm
by DX
Hi.
Portamento could be the answer. I don't remember if portamento is set to all the sounds simultaneously or is stored for each one.

I discard the tune function because It must not change at random. Anyway, check the MASTER TUNE function, It must show the value 0.

Internal battery could be the answer but I am in doubt.. Try to check deeply the synth (does it work well when midi hooked? etc) and let us know.

Regards!.