channel inserting a stomp box

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
User avatar
haricots
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 218
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2005 9:23 pm
Gear: 5U modular, Tetra MAPS, MD UW, XS, 777, Pro One, JX-3P, Wavestation, Pulse+, Drumstation, S-760
Location: Guelph
Contact:

channel inserting a stomp box

Post by haricots » Sat Dec 16, 2006 11:39 pm

As far as wiring it up, do I need a 1/4" stereo male to dual 1/4" mono males? This is for connected a standard 1 in 1 out flanger guitar pedal to a Mackie 1202 mixer.

Thanks in advance.

User avatar
Tidda
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 154
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 5:30 pm

Post by Tidda » Sat Dec 16, 2006 11:55 pm

Yes, on the stereo male plug the tip is the send and the ring is the return.

Tidda

User avatar
MissionBrown
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 203
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2006 12:14 pm
Location: Fitzroy

Post by MissionBrown » Sun Dec 17, 2006 12:25 am

Yeah I think so

User avatar
Spike Vincent
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 3:11 pm
Location: People's Republic of The Forest of Dean,and why isn't there a Welsh flag option?Eh?

Post by Spike Vincent » Mon Dec 18, 2006 12:59 pm

Yup.Use a Y splitter.Which is a 1/4" to 2 mono 1/4" .
Currently plugged in to the mixer :
Korg EA1,Korg MS10 and some shortwave radios.

operator
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 5:13 am
Location: guelph, ontario, eunited states of soviet kanuckistan

Post by operator » Mon Dec 18, 2006 4:24 pm

i think you're 'supposed' to attenuate the signal going into the stomp box though, or maybe DI the output before it goes back to the mixer. i don't remember exactly, but i read something about it in a recording magazine a couple of years ago. i'm sure you don't have to, like it will work anyways, but there maybe be some impedance matching issues or something. maybe someone else knows more about this?

User avatar
Tidda
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 154
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 5:30 pm

Post by Tidda » Mon Dec 18, 2006 11:28 pm

Depending on the model

MS-1202 : output(tip): 120Ohm, input(ring): >10kOhm
MS-1202VLZ (Pro) : output(tip): 120Ohm, input(ring): >2.5kOhm

Tidda

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Post by Stab Frenzy » Tue Dec 19, 2006 5:44 am

operator wrote:i think you're 'supposed' to attenuate the signal going into the stomp box though, or maybe DI the output before it goes back to the mixer. i don't remember exactly, but i read something about it in a recording magazine a couple of years ago. i'm sure you don't have to, like it will work anyways, but there maybe be some impedance matching issues or something. maybe someone else knows more about this?
It's not so much the impedence, it's the level that really messes you up. The out from the mic pre is at line level but the pedal wants instrument level which is much lower, so it needs to be attenuated or it'll clip really badly. The input on the insert is expecting a line level signal too so the instrument level out from the pedal may be too low, although many will have enough gain on the output section to get it up there.

User avatar
aeon
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 881
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 8:18 am
Location: a lily-pad in the pool of my mind.
Contact:

Post by aeon » Tue Dec 19, 2006 11:04 am

If you want to send to a (guitar) pedal from a line-level source, i.e., DAW send, or mixer insert/send, you need to send the signal to a re-amp device first.

Then as you come back from your analog pedal(s), you need to use a DI box - active if you want to go back into a DAW or mixer at line level - or a passive DI if you prefer to go back in via a mic pre.


cheers,
Ian

User avatar
Tidda
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 154
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 5:30 pm

Post by Tidda » Tue Dec 19, 2006 4:12 pm

Mr. Haricots,

Did you already have a chance to try it?
I have got an MS-1202VLZ myself and am interested if it works.
I don't have a stompbox myself or the necesarry cables (yet).

Also, take into consideration that the 'trim' control is pre-insert, so I guess you could use that to lower the signal going to the stompbox.
And, as Stab Frenzy says, the stompbox might have enough output gain to feed the signal back to the mixer.
The gain control on the mixer is of course post-insert, but it wouldn't be very practical if you would have to set that all open all of the time.

Just curious if it all works without any extra gear. The manual is a bit vague, using terms as 'almost any device'.

Tidda

User avatar
aeon
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 881
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 8:18 am
Location: a lily-pad in the pool of my mind.
Contact:

Post by aeon » Tue Dec 19, 2006 6:30 pm

It isn't just a question of levels - the re-amp device and DI box are also addressing impedance issues.


cheers,
Ian

Post Reply