Korg Poly 800 / Poly-800 Wrong Key

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
duval

Korg Poly 800 / Poly-800 Wrong Key

Post by duval » Mon Apr 16, 2007 10:37 am

Hi guys... I'm a complete newbie to synths and I just bought myself a Korg Poly 800 Mk 1 on eBay. I've been playing it through headphones so far only and it sounds fine (no factory presets though, just my own creations). The problem is that when I play a C on the Korg, this is actually a concert E (an E on a piano) The tuning slide and pitch bend stick are both centered, so it's not this. I've heard people talking about problems with internal batteries, but I've also heard people say that the Mk 1 doesn't have an internal battery...what's the problem?!
Thanks,
D

DX

Post by DX » Mon Apr 16, 2007 10:45 am

Hi.
If the "out of tune" is continously on the whole keyboard (C is an E, D is a F, like a transposed keyboard) try to tweak the Tune slider from one side to another until you get the right tune. If it is still not reached, there must be an internal problem. Maybe it requires from a tune adjust, maybe some major problem.
If the problem is just only C notes are transposed, I guess some keyboard scan problem.

Regarding internal batt, some MK1 models have it..

Let us know.
Roland Promars, E-mu EMAX and some other machines...

Analog Freak

Post by Analog Freak » Mon Apr 16, 2007 11:25 am

Does this happen up the entire scale? I.E. does an F sound as an A? If so you just have the entire keyboard transposed up by a third. I don't know exactly how to transpose a Korg Poly 800, but it should be in the manual.
"All Your Synthesizers Are Belong To Us!" Literally.

duval

Post by duval » Mon Apr 16, 2007 12:31 pm