Is Roland cv/gate compatible with Moog?

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
User avatar
artfulideas
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 10:46 am
Location: Berlin

Is Roland cv/gate compatible with Moog?

Post by artfulideas » Thu Apr 19, 2007 4:03 am

Quick question.
I just got a Moog Taurus II and was wondering if a Technosaurus Microcon synth (which uses Roland style cv/gate) would transfer its cv/gate messages out to the Taurus.
thanks
Drum machines: Machinedrum UW mk II, modded TR-606, TR-707 & TR-727 (both circuit bent), ER-1 mkII
Synths: MFB Synth II, MicroKorg, modded Fatman, Mini theremin

deadgobby
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 10:43 am

Post by deadgobby » Thu Apr 19, 2007 5:59 am

Yes! Have fun with it. I think the Roland uses 1/8 patch and moog 1/4 inch. You can go to like Radio shack and get adapters or cable. it should work like lucky charms.
There is users and power users. The users use only use the synth. The power users use every thing.

User avatar
artfulideas
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 10:46 am
Location: Berlin

Post by artfulideas » Thu Apr 19, 2007 8:30 am

Well as far as the type of cv/gate it sends, does it work though?
I know the cables just need to be sorted out, but different brands use different types of cv/gate. I know yamaha is compatible with korg and paia, but not roland.
Drum machines: Machinedrum UW mk II, modded TR-606, TR-707 & TR-727 (both circuit bent), ER-1 mkII
Synths: MFB Synth II, MicroKorg, modded Fatman, Mini theremin

deadgobby
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 10:43 am

Post by deadgobby » Thu Apr 19, 2007 3:15 pm

It should work. Give it a try and run with it.
There is users and power users. The users use only use the synth. The power users use every thing.

Toris
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 3:31 pm
Location: UK

Post by Toris » Thu Apr 19, 2007 4:14 pm

CV may be OK (not sure if the Moog is 1V/Octave but I think so) but I think the gate needs to be coverted to Moog S-trig like this:

Image

If you can't be arsed to make a lead, they're available on ebay
Err...now what?

Post Reply