my Old Poly six - does it need an internal battery ?

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
gizmogeeks
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 9:53 pm

my Old Poly six - does it need an internal battery ?

Post by gizmogeeks » Mon May 28, 2007 10:04 pm

hi all -
I have an old POLY six that has been in a rack in my studio for years It is time for it to go - and have just pulled it out to clean up and sell on Ebay - when I first turned it on to check it out - I could change the preselects with the selectors on the right - now it will not budge - and remain with all lights on - I cannot chag the tone - eveyhing else seems to work -of sorts
Is there an interall Battery of like on my D50 - or is this a common problem with poly six's.
Image

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll? ... B:RTQ:UK:1
be great if someone could help
cheer
Paul

User avatar
mistercooper
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 12:31 am
Location: Seattle, WA

Post by mistercooper » Mon May 28, 2007 10:12 pm

I'm pretty sure the batteries in those things are prone to exploding. No joke. They leak c**p all over the PCB.
m-audio Radium 61, Korg Kontrol49,
Nord Modular rack, ER-1
Soundlab
CS-50
Custom built modular w/ ~30 modules
TX-216, VSS-100, PSR-470
Ableton Live, Reason, Cubase, plugs

User avatar
Analog Freak
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 286
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 5:29 am
Location: Ohio

Post by Analog Freak » Mon May 28, 2007 10:29 pm

Sounds like that battery raised h**l with your KLM-367 circuit board. You are probably looking at a new IC or two and a mess of jumpering around the damaged sections of the board. I had to do it and it is not fun by any stretch of the imagination. Sadly, this problem is the #1 cause of a dead polysix being sold for next to nothing. Almost nobody wants to do the work themselves and the repair costs at a shop can equal or exceed the value of the synthesizer to begin with. If you want to try fixing it yourself, head on over to Old Crow's Synthesizer website at :http://www.oldcrows.net/~oldcrow/synth/korg/polysix/

EDIT: I noticed in the picture that your Tape Enable LED is on. Try flicking that switch off ant try changing patches again.
"All Your Synthesizers Are Belong To Us!" Literally.

gizmogeeks
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 9:53 pm

poly six

Post by gizmogeeks » Mon May 28, 2007 10:35 pm

thanks guys -
I will have a peek inside in the morning -

Image

User avatar
minime123
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1065
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 1:44 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by minime123 » Thu May 31, 2007 6:41 pm

all p6's are way overdue for a battery change.
if not changed, battery leakage can cause serious damage that youll want to let a pro fix.
mini
VINTAGE SYNTH DEALER
- We Buy Sell Trade Repair Vintage Synths
- We Buy Broken Gear & Parts Too...
- Huge Selection, Dependable Service
- https://tonetweakers.com

mekonin
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 12:07 am
Gear: Roland SH-1000, SH-101, Juno 106, SH-201, TR-808, TR-626, MSQ-700, Korg PolySix, Yamaha DX7, RX5, Elektronika EM-25
Band: Margita je Mrtva
Location: Serbia

Post by mekonin » Tue Dec 11, 2007 1:50 am

i have a similar problem with my newly bought poly6

all four bank button leds are lit up when i turn it on, the first four of the preset buttons too...
in all of the presets there are just click written

but when i switch to manual, i can change the sound in every part except the VCO which does not respond


the battery doesn't seem to have leaked a lot, i've cut it right away
could it be that it ruined some chips on the board?

User avatar
minime123
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1065
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 1:44 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by minime123 » Tue Dec 11, 2007 7:41 am

whered you get this defective polysix?
its likely traces and chips were damaged. seems to always happen, even when the seller says "no leakage".
VINTAGE SYNTH DEALER
- We Buy Sell Trade Repair Vintage Synths
- We Buy Broken Gear & Parts Too...
- Huge Selection, Dependable Service
- https://tonetweakers.com

mekonin
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 12:07 am
Gear: Roland SH-1000, SH-101, Juno 106, SH-201, TR-808, TR-626, MSQ-700, Korg PolySix, Yamaha DX7, RX5, Elektronika EM-25
Band: Margita je Mrtva
Location: Serbia

Post by mekonin » Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:14 am

i bought it second hand for something like 100eur and i bought it as is, so i guess i can blame myself for getting in this mess :)
i just wanted one so bad


i know that traces can be repaired, but chips have to be replaced?
is it hard to find spare ones?

Europe Endless
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 8:20 pm
Gear: Minimoog model D, Prophet 5 3.3, MultiTrak, Juno-60, 3xPolysix, Trident MkI & MkII, DW8000, DX7IIFD, KX88, and DIY Digisound SSM-based mono.
Location: Way north

Post by Europe Endless » Tue Dec 11, 2007 6:32 pm

I fixed one with similar symptoms a few weeks ago. Apart from replacing the battery I wound up reparing 11 damaged traces under the chip closest to the battery, despite very little visible leakage...

User avatar
minime123
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1065
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 1:44 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by minime123 » Thu Dec 13, 2007 7:27 am

yup. theres usually damage even when not obvious. make sure you removed all that corrosion or it will come back.
VINTAGE SYNTH DEALER
- We Buy Sell Trade Repair Vintage Synths
- We Buy Broken Gear & Parts Too...
- Huge Selection, Dependable Service
- https://tonetweakers.com

Post Reply