303 din sync to drumstation how

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.

303 din sync to drumstation how

Postby prince fan 2 » Sun Jun 17, 2007 5:44 pm

hi again..just got hold of the novation drumstation and would like to know how i

get it to sync with my 303....no manual unfortunately...

how does it sorta work..can i get away with using a normal midi cable

for connection...very new at this connection sort of lark....simple explinations please..

thanks again..
prince fan 2
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 10:23 pm

Postby baschyn » Sun Jun 17, 2007 5:51 pm

yes.
User avatar
baschyn
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 1:55 am
Location: Minneapolis
Gear: EIII, EII, P5 rev2, Prophet VS,VP-330, OB-8, TR808,606, MPC 3000. PolyEvolver.

Postby nathanscribe » Sun Jun 17, 2007 6:46 pm

You can use normal MIDI cables for DIN sync, but only if they're the type that use all the pins: Sync24 and MIDI use different pins, and not all MIDI leads are made with 5 pins soldered. If you have no luck with your particular MIDI leads, try 5-pin DIN audio cables, they're suitable.
User avatar
nathanscribe
VSE Review Contributor
VSE Review Contributor
 
Posts: 2889
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 1:03 pm
Location: The right side of the Pennines

Postby Computer Controlled » Mon Jun 18, 2007 2:09 am

Well, assuming you're in the US, go to Radio Shack. They carry proper DIN cables. BUT, if they don't have any, those colored MIDI cables you buy in 3 packs work as well. Also, i think HOSA MIDI cables work, and some of the kind with chrome heads work. Just plug the cable into the DIN socket in back of the DS, and into the 303. You're set.
Computer Controlled
No Longer Registered
 

Postby prince fan 2 » Mon Jun 18, 2007 7:49 am

is that it no programming.no special set up.no dials to spin or press.it just automatically

syncs with the unit....

if it does ill be ammazed...
prince fan 2
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 10:23 pm

Postby prince fan 2 » Mon Jun 18, 2007 7:50 am

is that it no programming.no special set up.no dials to spin or press.it just automatically

syncs with the unit....

if it does ill be ammazed...
prince fan 2
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 10:23 pm

Postby prince fan 2 » Mon Jun 18, 2007 7:50 am

is that it no programming.no special set up.no dials to spin or press.it just automatically

syncs with the unit....

if it does ill be ammazed...
prince fan 2
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 10:23 pm

Postby Computer Controlled » Mon Jun 18, 2007 9:07 am

That's exactly what it does. Instant conversion.
Computer Controlled
No Longer Registered
 

Postby prince fan 2 » Mon Jun 18, 2007 11:04 am

yeup got away with it....its fricking great...instant acid...

put the midi cable in the back and it all went quiet...hummm..

went to cubase on atari messed around a bit with midi implimentation nothing happened..humm

dont know what i done but....

then closed the screen and there it was syncing it time with the track...

small step for man...giant leap for prince fan...cheers buddies..
prince fan 2
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 10:23 pm

Postby Altitude » Mon Jun 18, 2007 11:53 am

Um, you do realize of course that there is no sequencer to sync with in the drum station right? All it will do is take a midi clock signal and convert it to DINSYNC so you can slave the 303 to another midi sequencer. Makes sure the sequencer is sending clock to the drum station and it should work as long as the 303 is in sync mode (the start/stop should not work)
User avatar
Altitude
Expert Member
Expert Member
 
Posts: 1220
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 7:25 pm
Location: Michigan

Postby Computer Controlled » Mon Jun 18, 2007 7:36 pm

Right, your sequencer must be transmitting MIDI Clock for it to work. Some sequencers do it automatically, some don't.
Computer Controlled
No Longer Registered
 


Return to HELP!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests