Moog Source questions

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
bb5000

Moog Source questions

Post by bb5000 » Tue Aug 14, 2007 5:00 am

Hi all.

I am new here and pretty green when it comes to synths.
I recently picked up a Moog Source (after playing one 10+ years ago;
almost traded a Farfisa compact and $ for one back then) and all seems to function without a problem.

The question or questions I have are about restoring the factory
presets (which was the attraction originally). I downloaded a PDF version of the manual which stated
you need a factory audio cassette ? Do you need a special
tape deck ? Does anyone do this or have these anymore ? Is the quality as good ? Are these tapes voodoo or is there any other way ?

As I said I am a noob ( so you may have to explain accordingly) and apologize if this if it is routine for you guys.

Thanks in advance for your time.
-Brian

Toris

Post by Toris » Tue Aug 14, 2007 11:07 am

The manual shows pictorial settings for all 16 of the factory presets. Should only take you around 1/2 hour to program them manually?
Err...now what?

redchapterjubilee

Post by redchapterjubilee » Tue Aug 14, 2007 2:33 pm

My Source has a weird tape interface, not a standard 1/4" in. If you have the ability to dummy up that sort of cable you can send the tape backup in. Most people transfer via WAV file playback now. That's a lot of work, as much as it would take to just program 16 new presets.

Enjoy your Source! I love mine.
http://facebook.com/greatunwashedluminaries
ANALOG SYNTHESIZERS + EFFECTS + COMPUTERS

bb5000

Update

Post by bb5000 » Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:48 am