Page 1 of 1

Yamaha AN-200 Sequencer bug.

Posted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 5:26 am
by hematurge
So I'm reading up on the AN-200 (was offered one as a trade). Found out it supposedly has a bug in the sequencer. When switching patterns it's said that it drops the first note of the pattern. Have any of you experienced this? If so what are the specifics? Does it do it every time you switch from one pattern to another (while playing)? Does it only do it when your really hitting the processor hard i.e. say all 4 tracks playing with the motion sequence tracks active and live tweaking too? I'm just curious as I have no hardware sequencer and no way to midi it up to my computer. Trying to figure out if it's so bad it renders the song function and/or the live pattern play mode useless. I like the sound of the thing and was planning to pair it up with a drum machine for a minimal live rig. If I can't make songs with it I don't even want to bother. Any help is much appreciated.

Posted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 6:22 am
by bigbadbarns
Yeah the first note drops out of the new pattern WHENEVER switching patterns- even when the patterns are chained together in song mode. Also, its not related to the processor being overloaded, as it will happen even if you've got just that track running with a single note playing. It doesn't drop the first note altogether- it just goes quiet for a moment, then picks up again- ie, if you've just got a pattern which is a single note at the start, it doesn't miss the note altogether.

Hope that makes sense.

What kind of music are you into making? I remember when I first got it I didn't have a hardware sequencer, and I still used it and enjoyed it. If you're doing live stuff, I dunno if people would really notice or care at all.

However, it is only a 1 measure sequencer, with max 1/16 resolution. So as a standalone synth, you're limited to a max of single bar, 16th note patterns.

I think that if I was still into techno or trance, or anything similarly basic and repetative, I'd be happy to use it live as a standalone synth.

Posted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 6:32 am
by hematurge
Ok so it only drops out on the synth track? If that's true I can deal with that. I just didn't want everything to go silent for a beat then jump back in full on. I make all kinds of stuff, more hiphop/triphop oriented these days but I do industrial and whatever else I feel like messin around with atm. Thanks for the reply too.

Posted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 6:38 am
by Yoozer
The sequencer's useless in the first place because it's only got 16 steps ;).

When I had the AN200 I just used it as an AN1x alternative. Without the computer you're also going to miss the opportunity to edit certain features - they've left 'm off the front panel :(.

Posted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 6:42 am
by hematurge
I can deal with 16 steps as long I can chain the patterns together without the sequencer dropping out everything on the first note.

Posted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 11:18 am
by Soundwave
Does the DX200 suffer from the same sequencer problem?

Posted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 12:41 pm
by meatballfulton
Yes, both AN and DX have this problem.

It is not a sequencer bug.

The AN/DX200 use Yamaha's PLG cards inside, the same cards you can buy to install into a CS6x, Motif, S80/80, MUxxxx, etc.

I have three PLG boards mounted inside my Motif. When selecting patches, the PLG cards switch more slowly than the Motif sounds. What happens in the AN/DX200 is when you select a new pattern it sends a program change message to the PG board to change the patch. The board is still responding when the downbeat at the top of the pattern arrives.

I have no idea how Yamaha thought this would be OK (notice they carefully managed to avoid it in the preset patterns and demo songs!!!) and I'm sure it had a lot to do with the boxes faring poorly in the marketplace.

Posted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 4:11 pm
by bandreject
Is it possible to prevent an200's sequencer from sending the program changes for playing with same synth patch? And entering patch changes manually when needed (for example tho steps before any sound)?

Posted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 7:58 pm
by meatballfulton
bandreject wrote:Is it possible to prevent an200's sequencer from sending the program changes for playing with same synth patch? And entering patch changes manually when needed (for example tho steps before any sound)?
Apparently not. Many users petitioned Yamaha for an OS change to fix this bug but nothing came of it.

Posted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 11:58 pm
by hematurge
Thanks ppl for clearin this up ppl. Much help and much appreciation. Still not sure if I wanna get one or not.

Posted: Wed Aug 29, 2007 12:35 am
by desdinova
meatballfulton wrote:I have no idea how Yamaha thought this would be OK
That's yamaha :P

Posted: Wed Aug 29, 2007 5:57 am
by bigbadbarns
Yeah, I've said it a thousand times, they really f**k up with the loopfactory synths. Don't get me wrong- they're AWESOME, compact little bastards. But if they'd eliminated that bug, and just had a slightly better sequencer- even just one with higher step resolution and maybe a few measures longer- they would have been absolutely killer. Surely that wouldn't have cost any more money whatsoever.

I can't really figure out why these things were overlooked- its not like they had any better options along the same line from their own company that it would have been competing against (ie- "we'll made it a bit shitter so you'd buy the other, more expensive one").

Posted: Wed Aug 29, 2007 6:02 am
by bigbadbarns
hematurge- I think that for a sweet little hip/trip hop live setup the AN would work well inspite of this shortcoming- like you said, its not the whole thing going silent, just the start of the synth pattern when changing patches. I don't listen to much hip hop, but to me it seems like this problem wouldn't limit you very much.

I'd go for it. The sequencer aside, it beats the s**t out of the electribes in my opinion. Both the AN and DX are capable of really, really awesome sounds. I prefer the sound of the AN to my old KS-4.

Though its limited by the fact that the synth engine is monotimbral. For doing hip hop, though, you might be okay, as the drum machine side of it has a few different bass sounds that you can use, along with a pretty reasonable selection of electronic drum sounds- 808s & 909s in particular.

Re: Yamaha AN-200 Sequencer bug.

Posted: Wed Aug 26, 2020 3:09 pm
by beenwiser
this is a little ambiguous to me... which of the following statements is accurate?

AN200 & DX200 always drop the first synth note anytime you switch to a new pattern

AN200 & DX200 will drop the first synth note if you switch to a pattern that uses a different synth patch

Re: Yamaha AN-200 Sequencer bug.

Posted: Wed Aug 26, 2020 7:43 pm
by meatballfulton
As I recall, only if the patch changes in the new pattern. Nasty bug, never got fixed.