Page 1 of 1

TR-707 LCD Repair

Posted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 9:06 pm
by PitchMode
after about 15 years of flawless beat wrangling, it seems that my 707's lcd display has finally died. while i can get along without the display, it's kind of nice to have a visual of what's going on. i tried searching the forums but nothing came up.

does anyone have any experience with getting one repaired? i'm probably going to attempt this myself as it will most likely cost more to fix at a shop than what i paid for it.

any advice is greatly appreciated.

Posted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 9:23 pm
by micahjonhughes
I don't think there is any repairing a dead lcd display. The 707 screen is a specialized part and you will need to find a replacement. Roland still has some parts, you can try them.

Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 1:01 pm
by Maschinengeist
The LCD problem can have multiple sources.

1) voltage problem
2) dead LCD driver
3) defective display

All are repairable/replacable (most of the time). Let me know if you want me to look at your unit. In the meantime, I'll look at it a bit closer.

Re: TR-707 LCD Repair

Posted: Sun Jun 14, 2020 7:35 pm
by nothnks
I think mine is having the same issue.

I've been doing some testing this afternoon.. sometimes the LCD will display the current settings, but other times nothing displays at all. If it does display, it doesn't respond to function changes (at least with no discernible pattern).

However, I am able to get to the pattern play and write modes, and play and write notes, change instruments, etc. So it seems like all is well. As long as I've had it, it would sometimes get stuck in a SYNC mode (I always wanted it set to something other than the default). So I'm not sure if it's the LCD alone or some power issue.

Anyone have any tips on narrowing this down further? I'm a complete beginner when it comes to electronics but it's something I'd like to learn, at least one day.

Re: TR-707 LCD Repair

Posted: Sat Jul 18, 2020 1:35 pm
by upunkt
I own a 707 that also lacks display information sometimes. I haven't found the time to get it sorted but I assume it's a broken path on one of the boards since the display can be triggered to show information by pressing a finger on a certain spot of the housing.
I've had a couple of broken paths fixed throughout the years, besides other issues so it's most likely just another one. These broken paths are the result of corrosion. I do not know what the previous owners of my machine did with it but something started to make the copper in some paths very dark until they finally lost conductivity. See attached image of cartridge ribbon cable as example.
tr707_path_corrosion.jpg