Any sort of workaround with synths without midi thru?

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
User avatar
Alex E
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2239
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 12:07 am
Gear: Jupiter-6, Juno-60, Polysix, Emulator II, DX7, QX1, Arp Odyssey MKII, ESQ-1, Miami, M1r, Live 9, iMac MC309XX/A
Location: Anaheim, CA

Any sort of workaround with synths without midi thru?

Post by Alex E » Thu Nov 08, 2007 3:06 am

My ESQ-1 and TR-505 both lack Midi thru, and so will the more modern JP-8000 when I get one (wtf, right? :evil:) So is there a way to work around this? Like a little box I can put on the synth/drummachine in question and hook up my midi cables a certain way? I daisy chain my synths together and sequence them with my mmt8 so I can't work with more than 2 peices of gear w/o midi thru.
soundcloud.com/vectron


User avatar
micahjonhughes
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 703
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 4:27 pm
Location: Chicago

Post by micahjonhughes » Thu Nov 08, 2007 3:18 am

You want a midi patchbay. There are lots of different ones out there left over from the 80s.

User avatar
Alex E
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2239
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 12:07 am
Gear: Jupiter-6, Juno-60, Polysix, Emulator II, DX7, QX1, Arp Odyssey MKII, ESQ-1, Miami, M1r, Live 9, iMac MC309XX/A
Location: Anaheim, CA

Post by Alex E » Thu Nov 08, 2007 3:35 am

thanks
soundcloud.com/vectron


User avatar
Z
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3539
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 3:08 am
Gear: Bubble wrap, Styrofoam, boxes, packing tape
Location: Docking Bay 94 (Dallas, TX)
Contact:

Post by Z » Thu Nov 08, 2007 4:52 am

MJH is on the right track, but patchbays really shine with complex MIDI rigs with multiple controllers, sequencers an such. Patchbays have multiple MIDI INs & OUTs (8x8 is a typical configuration) and allow you to route the signal from the different INs & OUTs. Some models allow merging of mutliple INs, filtering of certain MIDI data, and other features.

A simple and inexpensive solution is a MIDI THRU BOX. These have one MIDI in and several OUTs. These boxes are usually the size of small drum machines, but some are rack mounts. I have a Roland A-110 which is a rack mount thru box which also has a 88 key display that lights up when note data is present. Thru Boxes usually sell on eBay from $5 - $20 whereas patchbays are $75 and up.

Good luck!

Z
youtube.com/zibbybone facebook.com/ZsFlippinGear

burnt toast
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 81
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2005 6:43 pm
Location: london UK
Contact:

Post by burnt toast » Thu Nov 08, 2007 2:25 pm

ive got a motu midi express from the early 90's that merges 4 midi ins to 6 midi outs... it was about £20.

User avatar
pricklyrobot
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1742
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 6:37 am
Location: Austin, TX

Post by pricklyrobot » Thu Nov 08, 2007 8:22 pm

Casio TB-1 is another good Thru box (2 ins, 8 outs), not too big (I'm gonna guess maybe 12"x 4"), and it can run on 6 AA batteries (it doesn't use much power so they'll last forever) if you're short on outlets.
Arturia MiniBrute -- bits o' Euro -- Sammich SID -- E-mu MP-7 -- Korg ER-1 -- Thingamagoop

User avatar
Alex E
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2239
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 12:07 am
Gear: Jupiter-6, Juno-60, Polysix, Emulator II, DX7, QX1, Arp Odyssey MKII, ESQ-1, Miami, M1r, Live 9, iMac MC309XX/A
Location: Anaheim, CA

Post by Alex E » Thu Nov 08, 2007 8:47 pm

I'll probably get a midi thru box to save space and $$. Thanks for the extra info guys.
soundcloud.com/vectron


User avatar
Altitude
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1220
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 7:25 pm
Location: Michigan

Post by Altitude » Thu Nov 08, 2007 9:33 pm

IIRC the 8000 has a soft midi thru, you should only need to turn it on

tunedLow
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 384
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 11:08 pm
Gear: Sage XP 4wt 10
Sage TXL 3wt 710
Location: Salt Lake City, UT

Post by tunedLow » Fri Nov 09, 2007 9:50 am

Nice to see someone else with a TB-1! The thing is a champ.

User avatar
xpander
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1541
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 7:15 am
Gear: UltraProteus, Xpander, 200e, Minimoogs, Radias, Prophet VS, PolyEvolver, Arp 2600
Location: los gatos, california
Contact:

Post by xpander » Fri Nov 09, 2007 10:29 am

can't go wrong with the USB version of the motu midi timepiece AV, it- along with the 896 and 828- are the heart of my studio. using the MIDI THRU on any synth is a happily forgotten memory, although it always seems wasteful tying up a precious MTP port with a 1-part-multimode synth; however, simple midi routers / midi patchbays really seem like a product of yesteryear.

User avatar
Altitude
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1220
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 7:25 pm
Location: Michigan

Post by Altitude » Fri Nov 09, 2007 2:36 pm

Follow up: I confirmed this, its on page 97 of the manual. There is a soft thru (meaning everything coming into the in is echoed to the out). So you can connect the midi out of the 505 to the midi in of the 8000 and the 8000 midi out to the ESQ-1, no additional hardware needed to send sync.

User avatar
pricklyrobot
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1742
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 6:37 am
Location: Austin, TX

Post by pricklyrobot » Fri Nov 09, 2007 3:58 pm

xpander wrote:can't go wrong with the USB version of the motu midi timepiece AV, it- along with the 896 and 828- are the heart of my studio. using the MIDI THRU on any synth is a happily forgotten memory, although it always seems wasteful tying up a precious MTP port with a 1-part-multimode synth; however, simple midi routers / midi patchbays really seem like a product of yesteryear.
Yeah, why buy a simple $30 piece of used gear that solves your problem when you can drop $500 on something state of the art that does a bunch of things you don't need? Makes perfect sense.
Arturia MiniBrute -- bits o' Euro -- Sammich SID -- E-mu MP-7 -- Korg ER-1 -- Thingamagoop

User avatar
pricklyrobot
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1742
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 6:37 am
Location: Austin, TX

Post by pricklyrobot » Fri Nov 09, 2007 6:14 pm

tunedLow wrote:Nice to see someone else with a TB-1! The thing is a champ.
I just upgraded to a Digital Music Corp MX-8 (also worth a look, they go for $50-$75 these days) because I needed some MIDI filtering capabilities, but I think I'll hang on to the TB-1. It doesn't take up too much space and I may need it later if my set-up keeps getting bigger and more confusing. :wink:
Arturia MiniBrute -- bits o' Euro -- Sammich SID -- E-mu MP-7 -- Korg ER-1 -- Thingamagoop

User avatar
xpander
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1541
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 7:15 am
Gear: UltraProteus, Xpander, 200e, Minimoogs, Radias, Prophet VS, PolyEvolver, Arp 2600
Location: los gatos, california
Contact:

Post by xpander » Fri Nov 09, 2007 7:27 pm

pricklyrobot wrote:
... why buy a simple $30 piece of used gear that solves your problem when you can drop $500 on something state of the art that does a bunch of things you don't need? Makes perfect sense.
basically, i see a list of synths in the signature line and advise it's time to take the plunge. i bought my MTP used for less than $250, the Express XT is commonly sold less than $200 so the bite isn't so bad.

Post Reply