Yamaha AN1X editor help

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
User avatar
seamonkey
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 959
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:09 pm
Real name: Rick
Location: Sunny Florida

Yamaha AN1X editor help

Post by seamonkey » Tue Dec 11, 2007 7:52 pm

I just got a mint Yamaha AN1X off ebay and I recently installed the editor for it. My problem is I'm unable to get the midi to work as well as any sound from the small bank of patches already on it.
I've checked my midi out and it works fine on my VSTi's in Tracktion and Cubase 4. I've set the midi port in the setup menu to my EMU1616m.
I've also checked to make sure I have the midi channel in tx and rx set to 1 as well as the device numbers.
Any suggestions?
I'm using Windows XP SP2.
thank you

User avatar
tallowwaters
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4998
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 4:11 am
Gear: LC-MS/MS
Location: snake's belly in a wagon rut

Post by tallowwaters » Wed Dec 12, 2007 12:34 am

you arent expecting audio to go through the midi cables are you?...
Brains can be used like a "stress ball," but only once.

User avatar
seamonkey
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 959
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:09 pm
Real name: Rick
Location: Sunny Florida

Post by seamonkey » Wed Dec 12, 2007 2:30 pm

My first experience with midi was in 1985 with a Casio CZ101 so no I'm not expecting audio to go through midi.

Believe it or not I've never used an Editor before.I guess I expected the keys on the editor to play just as an VSTi would although I know it hasn't it's own sound engine. :roll:
I did recheck my midi and realized I didn't have my midi out feeding back into the AN1X and audio is now being received. :oops:

So thanks for raising the midi question and for your help. :cheers:

Post Reply