JP-8000 performance question

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
squaresprocket
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:51 am

JP-8000 performance question

Post by squaresprocket » Wed Dec 26, 2007 7:02 am

Is it possible to save a "patch" with keyboard split, arpeggiator or motion control as a "performance"? It's clear that the Patch and Performance sections are separate...so can I only create new performances by editing old ones, using the "performance" patches? Thanks alot for any help!

User avatar
Maschinengeist
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 1448
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 3:42 pm
Real name: Steph. J
Gear: Multimeter
Frequency Counter
Oscilloscope
Signal Generator
Logic Probe
and more stuff
Band: Cybernetik
Location: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Post by Maschinengeist » Wed Dec 26, 2007 7:11 am

Isn't there anything about this in the owner's manual?

You can download it for free from www.rolandus.com > support > product manuals. You must sign up to access the manuals.
-------------------------------------------------------------------
MuzikElektronix.com
Music electronics repair & More
Help? See TechZone
Parts? email!
Service Manuals?+/-2000 documents!
Sorry, they aren't free
Now on FACEBOOK: "Muzik Elektronix"

squaresprocket
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:51 am

Post by squaresprocket » Wed Dec 26, 2007 8:59 am

I looked through the manual pretty thoroughly--it never mentions saving patches as performances or vice versa as far as I saw

User avatar
Alex E
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2240
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 12:07 am
Gear: Jupiter-6, Juno-60, Grandmother, DX7 (x2), QX1, Arp Odyssey MKII, EX-8000, S2400, Rhodes Stage MK1
Location: Anaheim, CA

Post by Alex E » Fri Dec 28, 2007 6:23 pm

The patch system inside the JP is confusing and I'm still figuring it out. But as far as I know a patch can't be saved as a performance unless that patch is part of the performance, I think. So yes, you're probably stuck just overwriting performances.
soundcloud.com/vectron


User avatar
Analogue Crazy
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 652
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2006 5:31 pm
Real name: Rob
Gear: Alesis Andromeda
Korg MS20 Mini
Korg Micro Preset
Korg DS-8
Yamaha Motif 7
Yamaha DX11
Location: Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK

Post by Analogue Crazy » Fri Dec 28, 2007 8:49 pm

I find that annoying. But i don't use the split keyboard that much really because i usually have another polysynth on stage with me.
A6 Andromeda, MS20 Mini, M500SP, DS-8, Motif 7, DX11,

Post Reply