Help with synching some classic Roland gear.....

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
pottolom
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 1:20 pm

Help with synching some classic Roland gear.....

Post by pottolom » Wed Jan 02, 2008 1:27 pm

I sold my Juno 60 a while back and have been playing with soft synths ever since. However, my analogue withdrawal symptoms are really getting to me and I'm thinking of making some purchases......

Basically, I'd like to get set up with a SH101, a Juno 106 and a TR606. I'd mainly be doing live stuff with them.

My question is, how would I synch all these machines together? Would I be able to sequence them all?

I'm also thinking of getting a phrase sampler such as the SP808. Again, would this fit in and synch with this set up?

Thanks!

User avatar
mirt
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 10:10 am
Location: Legionowo | Poland
Contact:

Post by mirt » Wed Jan 02, 2008 1:41 pm

you'll need to have some midi to cv and midi to din sync converters to conect them all, doepfer made few of such converters.

User avatar
hollandturbine
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2007 11:58 am
Location: Behind you!!!

Post by hollandturbine » Wed Jan 02, 2008 2:33 pm

I have to agree with Mirt.

The Juno 106 has MIDI so will work with a modern set up.
The non MIDI machines will talk to each other no problem, but you really want to use MIDI.

DIN sync to MIDI is what you will want for the TR 606 to keep tempo with your MIDI gear, and MIDI to CV is what you want for the SH 101, you could make do without the MIDI to CV and just use MIDI to DIN sync if you want to use the TR 606 to sequence the SH 101, but it is limited and very time consuming to program and might not be ideal for a live set up.

you might want to download the manuals for each machine to see what the sync options are.

User avatar
mirt
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 10:10 am
Location: Legionowo | Poland
Contact:

Post by mirt » Wed Jan 02, 2008 3:49 pm

there are also some midi retrofits that can add a midi to tr 606 and sh 101

ronmcdonald
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: LDN

Post by ronmcdonald » Wed Jan 02, 2008 5:09 pm

The 606 has trigger outputs which can step the 101's arpeggiator or sequencer, but there is no way to hook the 106 up to those others without a converter of some kind. I'd suggest getting a simple MIDI sequencer, such as an Alesis MMT8, and a TR707 rather than a 606, because it has MIDI sync, and still retains a trigger output which can be used for the 101. Plus, a 707 still runs a bit cheaper on eBay and such places than a 606.

User avatar
Dr. Sound
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 12:59 am
Location: N Y C

Post by Dr. Sound » Thu Jan 03, 2008 5:23 am

FR Mobius

101 clock and cv/gate
606 DIN
Juno MIDI
[ + ]

User avatar
Tyler2000
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 660
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 4:31 am
Gear: HS-60, MG-1, CS-5, ESQ-1, CZ-101, DR-110, MR-10, MDP-40, EA-1, ER-1, ES-1, Trixer, SDS-9, Califorian 365, toys, guitars, ukes, etc.
Location: Huntsville, AL

Post by Tyler2000 » Thu Jan 03, 2008 7:25 am

why not just go back to the j60? Other than (more) patch memory and midi the j-60 is a better buy. Since midi is the problem and those synths are so simple that patch memory is sort of silly, wouldn't this be the best solution.

Then you could trigger the arpeggiator via clock signals from the 606 (right?).

Oh wait, I guess you were wanting to run sequences on the juno, so what would you be using as your sequencer for the juno? Maybe if you get one that has the right connections that could be your ticket...?
so what do I put down here now?

User avatar
King Julien
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 10:01 am

Post by King Julien » Sat Jan 05, 2008 11:28 am

I've got the 101 and 606 and they work really nicely together via trigger out to clock in. Much easier to use the 606 to sequence the 101 like this vs using the 101's sequencer.

However, I now also have added a FR revo. has din sync to the 606. So far so good. however, today I realised that the 606 will not trigger the 101 when is is receiving Din sync fro the revo. Very disappointing. I'll be trying the cv/gate but it won't be the same.

User avatar
Altitude
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1220
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 7:25 pm
Location: Michigan

Post by Altitude » Sat Jan 05, 2008 12:11 pm

Dr. Sound wrote:FR Mobius

101 clock and cv/gate
606 DIN
Juno MIDI
+1

Would probably be only a little more expensive used than a pro solo + a midi to din box and you get a sweet sequencer to boot

User avatar
nathanscribe
VSE Review Contributor
VSE Review Contributor
Posts: 2889
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 1:03 pm
Location: The right side of the Pennines
Contact:

Post by nathanscribe » Sat Jan 05, 2008 1:23 pm

King Julien wrote: today I realised that the 606 will not trigger the 101 when is is receiving Din sync fro the revo. Very disappointing.
It shouldn't be a problem. How have you got things set up? The DIN Sync input on the 606 drives the clock, not the triggers. The triggers are only fired by the toms. I run my 606 from a MIDI-DIN Sync convertor and use the toms to trigger Juno arpeggitors, and never had any issues with what you're describing. Double check your patterns and connections, I think.

User avatar
OriginalJambo
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2560
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2006 12:04 am
Gear: Check my sig
Location: Scotland, United Kingdom

Post by OriginalJambo » Sat Jan 05, 2008 5:11 pm

A Kenton Pro 2 can be had for a rather modest sum, and that will allow you not only to sync your Roland sequencer/arps but also sequence two synths independently via MIDI.

User avatar
Altitude
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1220
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 7:25 pm
Location: Michigan

Post by Altitude » Sat Jan 05, 2008 6:20 pm

OriginalJambo wrote:A Kenton Pro 2 can be had for a rather modest sum, and that will allow you not only to sync your Roland sequencer/arps but also sequence two synths independently via MIDI.
Except for the fact that it costs 150$ more than a mobuis and does less...

User avatar
King Julien
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 10:01 am

Post by King Julien » Sat Jan 05, 2008 11:44 pm

nathanscribe wrote:
King Julien wrote: today I realised that the 606 will not trigger the 101 when is is receiving Din sync fro the revo. Very disappointing.
It shouldn't be a problem. How have you got things set up? The DIN Sync input on the 606 drives the clock, not the triggers. The triggers are only fired by the toms. I run my 606 from a MIDI-DIN Sync convertor and use the toms to trigger Juno arpeggitors, and never had any issues with what you're describing. Double check your patterns and connections, I think.
Thanks, I'll try again and report back.

User avatar
xpander
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1541
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 7:15 am
Gear: UltraProteus, Xpander, 200e, Minimoogs, Radias, Prophet VS, PolyEvolver, Arp 2600
Location: los gatos, california
Contact:

Post by xpander » Sun Jan 06, 2008 1:46 am

Altitude wrote:
OriginalJambo wrote:A Kenton Pro 2 can be had for a rather modest sum, and that will allow you not only to sync your Roland sequencer/arps but also sequence two synths independently via MIDI.
Except for the fact that it costs 150$ more than a mobuis and does less...
a Kenton Pro-Solo mk2 is $150 less (going by bigcitymusic.com prices).

User avatar
King Julien
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 10:01 am

Post by King Julien » Sun Jan 06, 2008 1:54 am

King Julien wrote:
nathanscribe wrote:
King Julien wrote: today I realised that the 606 will not trigger the 101 when is is receiving Din sync fro the revo. Very disappointing.
It shouldn't be a problem. How have you got things set up? The DIN Sync input on the 606 drives the clock, not the triggers. The triggers are only fired by the toms. I run my 606 from a MIDI-DIN Sync convertor and use the toms to trigger Juno arpeggitors, and never had any issues with what you're describing. Double check your patterns and connections, I think.
Thanks, I'll try again and report back.
OK it works now - not sure what I was doing wrong.

Post Reply