MIDI compatibility with Boss drum machines

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
tonyrobot
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 1:43 am

MIDI compatibility with Boss drum machines

Post by tonyrobot » Fri Jan 11, 2008 1:50 am

I'd like to use my Boss DR-670 to MIDI-trigger a Micro-Korg. Is this even possible? It seems like it's not, because the Micro-Korg only recognizes channels 1-16, and the DR-670 only recognizes channels 17-32.

I tried MIDI-triggering the Micro-Korg with my Boss DR-5 as well, because it recognizes MIDI channels 1-16 just like the Micro-Korg. I set up everything according to the instructions, but they're not communicating.

Are these machines just not compatible, or am I doing something wrong here?

User avatar
Synthazaiser
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 10:17 pm
Gear: B3, CP-30, DX7, Casiotone MT-210, Axxe 1, EPS-1, Promars, MC-202, TR-606
Location: Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Post by Synthazaiser » Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:35 am

Most MIDI instruments don't use all their channels at once. Make sure that the Boss is transmitting on the same channel as the Korg is recieving.
Currently have: Baby Grand Piano, B3, CP-30, DX7, Casiotone MT-210, Axxe 1, EPS-1, Promars, MC-202, TR-606
Used to have: POLY-800, TR-505, Techstar TS-306, DX7, ESI-32, Juno-106, DX27, Synthcart, JX-3P, ESQ-M, Mono/Poly, MS2000BR, VX90

User avatar
cornutt
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2117
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:03 am
Gear: 6th
Location: Rocket City USA
Contact:

Re: MIDI compatibility with Boss drum machines

Post by cornutt » Fri Jan 11, 2008 4:06 am

tonyrobot wrote:I'd like to use my Boss DR-670 to MIDI-trigger a Micro-Korg. Is this even possible? It seems like it's not, because the Micro-Korg only recognizes channels 1-16, and the DR-670 only recognizes channels 17-32.
I think you're confusing the Roland sysex unit numbers with MIDI channel numbers. There is no such thing as MIDI channels 17-32; they only go up to 16.

Can the Micro-Korg be put into omni mode? That might at least get you started. Once you've demonstrated that your MIDI cables are good and so forth, you can work on getting the MIDI channels matched up.

User avatar
killedaway
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 1030
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 2:22 am
Gear: Electribes x 6
Revolution
Monomachine MKII
microKORG
CS01
& more!
Band: killedaway/allyourblood
Location: California, US

Post by killedaway » Fri Jan 11, 2008 6:09 am

i used to use my DR660 for this, so i know it can be done. it's just a matter of ensuring your MIDI settings are correct.
1.5.9.13
1.5.9.13

User avatar
t.o.t.s.
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 2:49 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY.
Contact:

Post by t.o.t.s. » Fri Jan 11, 2008 6:46 am

it can be done. I also use my 660 as a trigger for several things.
totsland.net / chvad.com / 8bitaudio.net / darksonus.com / invisiblerecords.com
Moog LP, SCI Six-Trak, Roland RS09, Crumar Performer, PAIA Fatman, Korg EX-8000, Waldorf µwaveXTK, Novation K-Station, XioSynth, KS4, Alesis Ion, Korg ER-1, Etherwave, MidiNES

Post Reply