Roland drum machines triggering korg PolySix Arp.

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
bionary
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 11:32 pm

Roland drum machines triggering korg PolySix Arp.

Post by bionary » Thu Jan 17, 2008 4:51 am

Can the trigger out from a Roland TR-707, 606 or Boss DR-110 act as the clock source for the arpeggiator on the Korg PolySix?

User avatar
Altitude
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1220
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 7:25 pm
Location: Michigan

Post by Altitude » Thu Jan 17, 2008 12:52 pm

It should, just write in notes (16ths, 8ths, etc) and it will advance the arp for every pulse it receives

plus321
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 299
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 2:44 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Post by plus321 » Thu Jan 17, 2008 2:44 pm

Since the Mono/Poly uses S-trig on the arp clock, then I would assume that the Polysix does as well.

You will need to make a cable (or mod your machine) to accept v-trig (from Roland machines).

This picture says it all.

http://www.synthesizers.com/moog_trigger-convert.jpg

Europe Endless
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 8:20 pm
Gear: Minimoog model D, Prophet 5 3.3, MultiTrak, Juno-60, 3xPolysix, Trident MkI & MkII, DW8000, DX7IIFD, KX88, and DIY Digisound SSM-based mono.
Location: Way north

Post by Europe Endless » Thu Jan 17, 2008 4:48 pm

plus321 wrote:Since the Mono/Poly uses S-trig on the arp clock, then I would assume that the Polysix does as well.
Your assumption is correct. Just checked the schematic and yes - the Polysix uses S-trig

bionary
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 11:32 pm

Post by bionary » Thu Jan 17, 2008 10:11 pm

Is it possible to make the cable shown in the above link with 1/4 inch on one end and 1/8 inch on the other? The PolySix doesn't use the Jones connector.

User avatar
OriginalJambo
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2556
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2006 12:04 am
Gear: Check my sig
Location: Scotland, United Kingdom

Post by OriginalJambo » Thu Jan 17, 2008 11:09 pm

Well the Kenton I have seems to work for both my PolySix and JX-3P, so I'd assume that it would.

plus321
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 299
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 2:44 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Post by plus321 » Thu Jan 17, 2008 11:20 pm

bionary wrote:Is it possible to make the cable shown in the above link with 1/4 inch on one end and 1/8 inch on the other? The PolySix doesn't use the Jones connector.
Yeah, you can put whatever you want one the ends of the cable. Just make sure tip goes to tip (signal) and sleeve to sleeve (ground).

Post Reply