repairing s-50

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
intelligenttelevision

repairing s-50

Post by intelligenttelevision » Sun Jan 20, 2008 3:09 am

Hey everyone I just got a roland S-50. I got it real cheap knowing that it needs a fuse and new disk drive. Anyone have advice on getting the parts and doing the repairs myself? I'm new to this so absolutely any input would be appreciated. Thanks

Analog Freak

Post by Analog Freak » Sun Jan 20, 2008 4:38 am

The fuse should not be too much of a problem, I'm not sure exactly where it is or how you get to it, (I have the Roland S-550, the rackmount version of the S-50), but anyway, wherever the fuse holder is, there should be some writing next to it along the lines of: 120V .5A. Write these figures down, and headover to your local Radioshack and see if they have a match. Make sure you don't buy slow blow fuses, those are meant for other things (without getting too technical). As for the floppy drive, the folks over at route 66 studios should be able to find you a drive for around 75 bucks. Although I can't vouch for how good their service is. Good luck with getting your Roland back to life, I love my S-550.
"All Your Synthesizers Are Belong To Us!" Literally.

intelligenttelevision

s-50

Post by intelligenttelevision » Sun Jan 20, 2008 5:50 am

Thanks a lot for the info. Is there anyway of hooking up an external hard drive or disk drive to the unit and bypassing the internal disk drive, or even a cd-rom drive? I'm hoping to keep this on a do-it-myself low budget if I can.

Analog Freak

Post by Analog Freak » Sun Jan 20, 2008 7:30 am