How do you route your midi?

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
User avatar
BluMunk
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 8:15 pm
Real name: Nate
Gear: RD700GX
Korg M3-61/Radias
Dave Smith PER
Virus Snow
FS1R
JV-2080/Xpanded
D-550
Matrix 6R
Proteus
QSR
Band: Sneezeguard
Location: Burlington, VT

How do you route your midi?

Post by BluMunk » Wed Mar 12, 2008 6:35 am

Just a poll here, as I'm trying to get my studio (aka bedroom) set up in the most efficient way possible.

I've got two different boards I use regularly as controllers, and a bunch of rack synths (um four at the moment), plus midi in and out of my computer.

What equipment/methods do you use for your midi? It seems like I just need to make a giant 'midi thru' chain with all my synths (ie, my QS7.1 into my JV1080 into my Matrix6 into my TX802). Is that generally the best way to do things?

User avatar
Analog Freak
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 286
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 5:29 am
Location: Ohio

Post by Analog Freak » Wed Mar 12, 2008 7:12 am

Generally speaking, making a massive MIDI daisy chain with the thru ports creates a lot of problems with delays and can sometimes result in lost data when a large amounts of data is transfered. This is especially the case with many newer synthesizers which use a "software" MIDI thru port, which is generally a lot more problematic than a hardware MIDI thru port. I use about four controllers, and a bunch of rackmount gear, so I bought a JL Cooper MSB+ for 25 bucks. It has to be the best money I've ever spent on a piece of gear. It solved all the problems I had having to plug and unplug different things and it allows me to have several common routings available within seconds. I don't know if they're still in production, but you might get lucky if your scour eBay and craigslist.
"All Your Synthesizers Are Belong To Us!" Literally.

User avatar
Big Gnome
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 409
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 3:14 am
Gear: E-mu Proteus 2500
Ensoniq ESQ-1
Ensoniq VFX
SCI Prelude
Waldorf Blofeld
Band: The Nondescript
Location: Oakland, CA
Contact:

Post by Big Gnome » Wed Mar 12, 2008 7:12 am

I'm not 100% certain, but I think you can only get away with chaining three or four synths together before you start experiencing latency issues.
I have mine connected in parallel to a 5x5 interface and control the routing from within Logic.
"Sure that's fine in practice, but what about in theory?"
Some of my c**p

cletus
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 8:48 am
Location: S.F. BAY AREA

Post by cletus » Wed Mar 12, 2008 8:48 am

Everything's going in and out of an AMT8 here and routed in logic.

bluedad
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 199
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 12:12 am
Gear: Yamaha Motif ES rack/DX7//TG77/SY77/AN1X/MM08 MicrowaveXT/ Korg DW8000/M3r/ Ensoniq ESQ-1 /Mirage Rack/ Nord Micro DSI Mopho Roland Juno 106/D550
Band: Split Second
Location: Birmingham, AL
Contact:

Post by bluedad » Wed Mar 12, 2008 11:34 am

I use a midisport 4X4 (from maudio) routed to Cubase or Reaper on my pc.

User avatar
differentbydesign
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 8:28 am
Location: In Mountains West of SYDNEY Australia

Post by differentbydesign » Wed Mar 12, 2008 11:58 am

I have a simple MIDI rule of thumb !
One synth one Port!

Ross
UF6, Pro 2K, 6 Tracks, SQR, DX-9, JV-880, JV-1080, MKS-70 , NI FM-7&8,Battery 3,Pro53,Absynth 4 Arturia MOOG Modular,2600V,CS-80 V, Minimoog V, Legacy Collection, RGC Pentagon,VirSyn Tera, Sonar 6.2, , Synth 1, MOTU Microlite, D-70, RX-11,Roland MC-500

User avatar
tyrannosaurus mark
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 581
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 11:10 am

Post by tyrannosaurus mark » Wed Mar 12, 2008 1:17 pm

I run my midi through my MPC1000, great lil hubb that thing is
Moog LP + Casio SK1 and MT-75 + tube amp = good tone.

User avatar
StepLogik
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1492
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 4:16 am
Gear: Gauntlets of Ogre Power, Vorpal Sword, Chain Mail +3, Ring of Invisibility, Staff of the Magi, Boots of Speed
Location: Boston, MA

Post by StepLogik » Wed Mar 12, 2008 2:27 pm

differentbydesign wrote:I have a simple MIDI rule of thumb !
One synth one Port!

Ross
thats the only way to go

i use a MOTU MIDI Express XT. Works great but the software is a bit confusing.

any devices that have usb, you should favor that over midi.

since you only have 1 midi port on your computer, i would recommend getting a multi-port midi interface. if thats not feasible, at least get a patcher/thru-box (yamaha YME-8, for example) to split the signal and reduce latency.

User avatar
Z
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3531
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 3:08 am
Gear: Bubble wrap, Styrofoam, boxes, packing tape
Location: Docking Bay 94 (Dallas, TX)
Contact:

Post by Z » Wed Mar 12, 2008 3:51 pm

I recommend a MIDI patchbay. I used to use a JL Cooper MSB+ (8 in, 8 out with 2 port merge), but now I use a JL Cooper MSB-1. Very simple to operate. It has 9 MIDI ins & 10 MIDI outs with dial pots to select the source for each destination. Only problem I have with it is that it does not merge 2 ports. The Roland A-880 is another great patchbay. It even has 2 ins & outs on the front panel.

Z
youtube.com/zibbybone facebook.com/ZsFlippinGear

User avatar
ronP
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 408
Joined: Fri May 19, 2006 7:20 pm
Gear: BEHRINGER Xenyx 802; CASIO MT-70; KORG EA-1 mkII, MicroKorg, microSTATION, MicroX, Mini-KP, Monotron; ROLAND Micro Cube; ZOOM FS01, MRS-4B, MRT-3B
Band: Keyfish
Location: New York, NY, USA
Contact:

Post by ronP » Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:40 pm

.


My Electribe, being the bassline and general pattern sequencer, is the center of my MIDI rig; I use its In and Out and Thru to control my drum machine (to synchronize its beats to the sequences) and my synth (to control its arpeggiator and delay rate).

btw: If I ever do expand beyond this set-up, I'll invest in a MIDI patch bay, because all kinds of shenanigans occur if you chain more than three devices.


.
BEHRINGER Xenyx 802; CASIO Casiotone MT-70; KORG Electribe EA-1mkII, microKORG, mini-KP; QUIKLOK T20 T-REX Series X;
ROLAND Micro-CUBE; YAMAHA PSS130, PSS140; ZOOM FS-01, MRS-4B, MRT-3B

Wanted: BOSS DR-110; CASIO CZ-101; YAMAHA CS-01, DX-100

User avatar
Pilot352
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 9:39 pm
Location: Darien, Il.

Post by Pilot352 » Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:52 pm

I currently use two '360 systems MIDI Patcher' units, each with 8 ins and 8 outs. I can functionally control any keyboard with any other keyboard just by flipping a few buttons. Very powerful setup indeed!!

-Pilot
Analog: Mono/Poly, Prophet '08, Juno 106
Digital: Kurzweil SP88, Yamaha DX11, Kawai K4, MS2K, AN1x
Modules: Triton (loaded), Motif ES, MS2KR, E-Mu Proteus 2K, TR626 DM, Roland U220
New Addition: Fender Rhodes 73 Mark I
So much gear... So little time!!!

User avatar
WDW
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 811
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 4:46 am
Real name: WD
Location: Neverwhere

Post by WDW » Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:55 pm

This is a HELP topic.

Moved.

WD
WD Whaley Music - W2Studios
Composer | Songwriter | Synthesist
http://www.facebook.com/wdwhaleymusic
http://www.soundcloud.com/w2studios

User avatar
WDW
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 811
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 4:46 am
Real name: WD
Location: Neverwhere

Post by WDW » Wed Mar 12, 2008 5:42 pm

Here's my MIDI configuration...


Image


Note that there are no devices connected to a THRU. All devices are connected via a star configuration to reduce latency.

WD


Edit: Corrected a typo.
Last edited by WDW on Wed Mar 12, 2008 10:22 pm, edited 2 times in total.
WD Whaley Music - W2Studios
Composer | Songwriter | Synthesist
http://www.facebook.com/wdwhaleymusic
http://www.soundcloud.com/w2studios

User avatar
Pilot352
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 9:39 pm
Location: Darien, Il.

Post by Pilot352 » Wed Mar 12, 2008 6:42 pm

WDW wrote:Here's my MIDI configuration...

Note that there are no devices connected to a THRU. All devices are connected via a star configuration to reduce latency.

WD
Holy c**p, how many synths do you have????? Are all the synths you show "real" or are they just marked for potential connections?
Note that there are no devices connected to a THRU. All devices are connected via a star configuration to reduce latency.
This is excellent advice. I don't use the thru systems at all either. It just causes problems.

-pilot
Analog: Mono/Poly, Prophet '08, Juno 106
Digital: Kurzweil SP88, Yamaha DX11, Kawai K4, MS2K, AN1x
Modules: Triton (loaded), Motif ES, MS2KR, E-Mu Proteus 2K, TR626 DM, Roland U220
New Addition: Fender Rhodes 73 Mark I
So much gear... So little time!!!

User avatar
WDW
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 811
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 4:46 am
Real name: WD
Location: Neverwhere

Post by WDW » Wed Mar 12, 2008 6:52 pm

Real. And I need to add another Midisport 8x8 so that I can connect a few more orphans. The diagram does not include my non-MIDI gear.

WD
WD Whaley Music - W2Studios
Composer | Songwriter | Synthesist
http://www.facebook.com/wdwhaleymusic
http://www.soundcloud.com/w2studios

Post Reply