How many mega amps is too many?

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
User avatar
supermel74
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 962
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 8:56 am
Location: Maine
Contact:

How many mega amps is too many?

Post by supermel74 » Mon Apr 14, 2008 2:03 am

Is it ok to use a 9 volt 1000ma power supply with a unit that calls for 9 volt 200ma? I tried it, and it worked fine, but will this cause damage if used over a prolonged period?

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Post by Stab Frenzy » Mon Apr 14, 2008 2:34 am

You mean milliamps. :D

The current rating on a power supply just tells you what the maximum output it can handle is, if you use it on a device that doesn't need as many then it just won't output as much.

So basically, it's fine.

User avatar
V301H
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 750
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 3:58 am
Gear: Fender The Strat, Stratocaster, Jazz Bass Rickenbacker 360-12, 320 Messenger(Mark Farner)
Band: The Characters
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

Post by V301H » Mon Apr 14, 2008 2:35 am

"ma" stands for milliamps. It's okay to exceed the rating as the unit will not draw more power than what it needs. For a unit rated at, say, 500ma you wouldn't want to use a 200ma adaptor. You can exceed the ma rating without any problem, but don't go under or the unit may not work properly.
Prophet 5 rev.2, Pro-One, Juno 60, Jupiter 6, Matrix 12, OB8, MS20, Poly 800, CS70M, DX-7, CP35, Casio PX-5S, Hammond C3/M102, Vox Continental/Super Continental, Gibson G101, Farfisa Compact, RMI 300A, Pianet N, Combo Pianet, S770, S760, S50, NS3C

User avatar
supermel74
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 962
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 8:56 am
Location: Maine
Contact:

Post by supermel74 » Mon Apr 14, 2008 2:41 am

Cool. Thanks guys

User avatar
hyphen nation
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 877
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:43 am
Gear: boxes that make noises
Location: sunny northwest

Post by hyphen nation » Mon Apr 14, 2008 6:38 am

I thought this was going to be a post about marshall and bogner stacks...

User avatar
supermel74
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 962
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 8:56 am
Location: Maine
Contact:

Post by supermel74 » Mon Apr 14, 2008 7:33 am

hyphen nation wrote:I thought this was going to be a post about marshall and bogner stacks...
:lol: Is this too many?
Image

User avatar
eeprom_one
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 2:21 am
Contact:

Post by eeprom_one » Mon Apr 14, 2008 7:38 pm

the level current on the transfromer o adapter must be always higher than the machine needed

if you need 200mA is very good for your adapter what be higher 1000mA=1Amp.

doesn´t matter, never break :wink:
Analog powA!
http://www.myspace.com/spaindeejayscom
http://www.myspace.com/eepromone

2xElectribes rmkII (drummachine+synth) + Tg-500 Yamaha (tone generator). Comming soon: elektron monomachine mkII

Post Reply