Page 1 of 1

How many mega amps is too many?

Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 2:03 am
by supermel74
Is it ok to use a 9 volt 1000ma power supply with a unit that calls for 9 volt 200ma? I tried it, and it worked fine, but will this cause damage if used over a prolonged period?

Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 2:34 am
by Stab Frenzy
You mean milliamps. :D

The current rating on a power supply just tells you what the maximum output it can handle is, if you use it on a device that doesn't need as many then it just won't output as much.

So basically, it's fine.

Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 2:35 am
by V301H
"ma" stands for milliamps. It's okay to exceed the rating as the unit will not draw more power than what it needs. For a unit rated at, say, 500ma you wouldn't want to use a 200ma adaptor. You can exceed the ma rating without any problem, but don't go under or the unit may not work properly.

Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 2:41 am
by supermel74
Cool. Thanks guys

Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 6:38 am
by hyphen nation
I thought this was going to be a post about marshall and bogner stacks...

Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 7:33 am
by supermel74
hyphen nation wrote:I thought this was going to be a post about marshall and bogner stacks...
:lol: Is this too many?
Image

Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 7:38 pm
by eeprom_one
the level current on the transfromer o adapter must be always higher than the machine needed

if you need 200mA is very good for your adapter what be higher 1000mA=1Amp.

doesn´t matter, never break :wink: