Novation Bass Station - midi problem?

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
leonidspaul
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 1:14 pm
Real name: Paul
Gear: M1, Alpha Juno 1, Juno 106, TR606, 707, Poly 800, Poly 800II, SH09, MAM MB 33, Midas Venice 320...

Novation Bass Station - midi problem?

Post by leonidspaul » Tue Jun 24, 2008 8:41 pm

Not sure if this was ever a topic but i need some advice. My bass station seems to get stuck on the note off so the note plays continuosly until i re-enter the patch number. This has only started happening recently, has anyone experienced anything similar?? Thanks, Paul

User avatar
Dane_Xoth
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2004 1:42 am
Gear: Attack uWXT Edition uQ Prophecy, W/S ex, MS 2Kr ER1 EA1 RADIAS
A X V Bk Br D SB Station,
DJ70mII R-70 S760
Spectrum Bass+Synth
FB383
Absinthe
Band: Dane[X]oth, Dortmunder
Location: Toronto

Post by Dane_Xoth » Tue Jun 24, 2008 10:07 pm

What are you using to control it?

Have you tried a different MIDI cable?

Are the cables firmly inserted?
Bend it to fit, Paint it to match.

leonidspaul
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 1:14 pm
Real name: Paul
Gear: M1, Alpha Juno 1, Juno 106, TR606, 707, Poly 800, Poly 800II, SH09, MAM MB 33, Midas Venice 320...

Post by leonidspaul » Tue Jun 24, 2008 11:06 pm

Yeah, changed cables, no difference. I'm also using a Nexus midi box but to eliminate that i hooked the bass station up to just a couple of other synths avoiding the Nexus and the same. I'm controlling with an MPC 2000XL.

Concept_Control
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 10:54 am

Post by Concept_Control » Fri Jun 27, 2008 1:16 pm

Hey, have you tried sequencing the Basstation from another MIDI device, a synth or something? you could eliminate it being something with the Basstation if it works OK with a different unit.

I've not much knowledge on MPCs, but they've got two play modes when you hit the pads, right? either momentary or hold... you could try check the settings on the MPC to see if it's sending a MIDI off message-

On my Waldorf, it's got a light that shows if it's receiving MIDI, and it blinks once when I hit a key, and again when I take my hand off, if the Novation has something like that you could hopefully figure what's messing about.

Good luck!

leonidspaul
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 1:14 pm
Real name: Paul
Gear: M1, Alpha Juno 1, Juno 106, TR606, 707, Poly 800, Poly 800II, SH09, MAM MB 33, Midas Venice 320...

Post by leonidspaul » Thu Jul 03, 2008 11:20 pm

Thanks CC. Yeah i have tried that but it's still happening. It's strange, it seems to only happen after a long time turned on. It'll play along no problem and then suddenly it will get stuck on a note and that will happen more and more as time goes by...
I'll keep at it.

User avatar
Maschinengeist
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 1448
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 3:42 pm
Real name: Steph. J
Gear: Multimeter
Frequency Counter
Oscilloscope
Signal Generator
Logic Probe
and more stuff
Band: Cybernetik
Location: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Post by Maschinengeist » Fri Jul 04, 2008 6:43 am

Hmmm, maybe an opto-isolator problem or the chip itself. I'll try to have a look at it if I get the chance (but I'm really busy).

Is that the keyboard version or the rack?
-------------------------------------------------------------------
MuzikElektronix.com
Music electronics repair & More
Help? See TechZone
Parts? email!
Service Manuals?+/-2000 documents!
Sorry, they aren't free
Now on FACEBOOK: "Muzik Elektronix"

leonidspaul
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 1:14 pm
Real name: Paul
Gear: M1, Alpha Juno 1, Juno 106, TR606, 707, Poly 800, Poly 800II, SH09, MAM MB 33, Midas Venice 320...

Post by leonidspaul » Fri Jul 04, 2008 7:17 pm

It's the rack version. Appreciate the help and i hope to hear some news soon. Paul

Post Reply