Page 1 of 1

lag in sound when using microkontrol and Arturia Minimoog

Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 4:15 am
by greentmanta
I'm experiencing lag between the time that I play a key and hear a sound. Can anyone help me configure this? Same goes for my Arturia Arp2600 and Reason 4.0

Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 4:31 am
by Summa
Depending on the Computer/OS you use, on Windows I'd say you should use ASIO drivers and reduce Latency Settings/Buffer Size...

Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 6:23 am
by Joey
are you running it off of bus power or AC power?

you should always have it plugged into a wall socket if possible, and not bus power.

that will help quite a bit.

other than that it could be that your computer is not fast enough, or you have something wrong with your ASIO driver settings.

Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 6:31 am
by greentmanta
Summa wrote:Depending on the Computer/OS you use, on Windows I'd say you should use ASIO drivers and reduce Latency Settings/Buffer Size...
Got it thanks! It worked after reducing the latency however it distorts when I lower the latency very low. How can I obtain the ASIO driver? I changed my preferences to ASIO and did not sound. It only works through my diretcx. I'm using Vista if that helps.

Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 6:35 am
by Stab Frenzy
greentmanta wrote:I'm using Vista if that helps.
There's your problem.

Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 12:11 pm
by Summa
Well, Vista isn't that bad, just pretty resource hungry and driver situation isn't perfect yet...

Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 12:16 pm
by Summa
greentmanta wrote:
Summa wrote:Depending on the Computer/OS you use, on Windows I'd say you should use ASIO drivers and reduce Latency Settings/Buffer Size...
Got it thanks! It worked after reducing the latency however it distorts when I lower the latency very low. How can I obtain the ASIO driver? I changed my preferences to ASIO and did not sound. It only works through my diretcx. I'm using Vista if that helps.
What soundcard/audio device are you using? If it's an onboard sounddevice it might help if you use ASIO4ALL...

http://www.asio4all.com/

Is your powermanagement set to high performance, since on a Speedstep/Powernow/Cool'nquiet system this is influencing the performance/processor speed of your system...

Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 4:54 pm
by Stab Frenzy
Summa wrote:Well, Vista isn't that bad, just pretty resource hungry and driver situation isn't perfect yet...
Well the ASIO driver not working at all is a bit of a problem. ;)

Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 11:24 pm
by Summa
I can't confirm this, ASIO works fine on my Vista Computer...