Can I hook the Roland JV-1010 into my electric guitar?

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
pathway88
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 2:41 pm

Can I hook the Roland JV-1010 into my electric guitar?

Post by pathway88 » Sat Oct 11, 2008 5:48 am

I am thinking about purchasing a Roland JV-1010 synth on ebay and I was wondering if I will be able to use it through my guitar and guitar amp?

Would I be able to buy a guitar MIDI pedal and use that to control presets?

User avatar
Big Gnome
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 414
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 3:14 am
Gear: E-mu Proteus 2500
Ensoniq ESQ-1
Ensoniq VFX
SCI Prelude
Waldorf Blofeld
Band: The Nondescript
Location: Oakland, CA
Contact:

Re: Can I hook the Roland JV-1010 into my electric guitar?

Post by Big Gnome » Sat Oct 11, 2008 6:40 am

pathway88 wrote:I am thinking about purchasing a Roland JV-1010 synth on ebay and I was wondering if I will be able to use it through my guitar and guitar amp?
I don't know what you mean about using it through your guitar, although the answer is probably 'no'; you certainly can plug it into a guitar amp, but be aware that most guitar amps are designed to color the signal considerably and consequently make very poor full range amplifiers which are ill suited for use with synths (unless you're going for a particular sound or style). Most bass amps are perfectly acceptable for amplifying synthesizers.
Would I be able to buy a guitar MIDI pedal and use that to control presets?
Probably, especially if it's configurable.
"Sure that's fine in practice, but what about in theory?"
Some of my c**p

User avatar
Z
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3550
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 3:08 am
Gear: Bubble wrap, Styrofoam, boxes, packing tape
Location: Docking Bay 94 (Dallas, TX)
Contact:

Re: Can I hook the Roland JV-1010 into my electric guitar?

Post by Z » Sat Oct 11, 2008 7:33 am

pathway88 wrote: Would I be able to buy a guitar MIDI pedal and use that to control presets?
You can use a MIDI foot pedal controller such as a Roland PK-5 to trigger sounds from any MIDI instrument.

ShadowsWithin
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 2:40 pm

Re: Can I hook the Roland JV-1010 into my electric guitar?

Post by ShadowsWithin » Sun Oct 12, 2008 1:31 am

the only way you would be able to control the sounds on your JV-1010 through a guitar would be to buy something liek the Roland GR-20 to process the audio signal from a guitar into a MIDI signal, then hooking up your JV to the GR module via midi cable.

pathway88
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 2:41 pm

Re: Can I hook the Roland JV-1010 into my electric guitar?

Post by pathway88 » Sun Oct 12, 2008 3:03 pm

I mean using my electric guitar to go into the synth and then a chord from the synth to an amp.

Would I be able to buy the gk-3 pickup that Roland uses with the GR-20 synth and have it work with the JV-1010?

Here is the gk-3 pickup: http://accessories.musiciansfriend.com/ ... sku=700379

Thanks guys, I am really tired of the boring guitar effects and I really want some beautiful ambient sounds.

User avatar
tim gueguen
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 795
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 2:31 am
Location: the Canadian Prairies
Contact:

Re: Can I hook the Roland JV-1010 into my electric guitar?

Post by tim gueguen » Tue Oct 14, 2008 6:00 am

You need either a Roland guitar synth or compatible MIDI converter like the Roland GI20 to use a Roland GK3 pickup to control a synth. But if you mean actually running the output of your normal guitar pickups into the JV1010 you can't do that, as it doesn't have an external sound input.
Keys: Realistic Concertmate 500, Korg K25, Korg Micro X

Guits: '86 Fender Japan '50s Reissue Strat, '80 Aria Pro II TS-300 Thor Sound

Post Reply