Page 1 of 1

Midi 8 in/8 out? Answer to midi glitches???

Posted: Sun Dec 28, 2008 2:11 am
by filtersweeperVCO
I'm running all my synths midi thru, and I am experiencing "held notes" MPC stopping randomly, synths playing on midi tracks that they're not supposed to etc... Will using a midi 8 in/8 out solve these issues? And should cubase be able to play multiple midi tracks at the same time without experience these types of glitches?? Please help me as I'm am having trouble solving this issue. I'd like to be able two synths at the same time on two different midi tracks to create a "2-part sound" if you know what I mean. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Sincerely yours,
"Synth nerd extraordinair"

Re: Midi 8 in/8 out? Answer to midi glitches???

Posted: Sun Dec 28, 2008 2:22 am
by pricklyrobot
Do you mean that you're currently daisy-chaining all of your synths together?

It's only 6 Ins/8 Outs, but I can recommend the Digital Music Corp MX-8 as a good, cheap Midi Thru box with plenty of programmability.

Also, this post is probably better suited to the Help forum.

Re: Midi 8 in/8 out? Answer to midi glitches???

Posted: Sun Dec 28, 2008 2:37 am
by filtersweeperVCO
daisy chain yes, good results no.

Re: Midi 8 in/8 out? Answer to midi glitches???

Posted: Sun Dec 28, 2008 7:46 pm
by cornutt
You can't daisy chain that many MIDI devices. The maximum recommended is 3 per chain. Get yourself a decent multi-port MIDI interface. And by "decent", I mean "not M-Audio". Personally, I swear by the MOTU MIDI XT USB.

Re: Midi 8 in/8 out? Answer to midi glitches???

Posted: Sun Dec 28, 2008 8:36 pm
by pricklyrobot
Are you looking for a MIDI Thru-Box/Patchbay, to control multiple pieces of hardware gear from other hardware gear? Or are you looking for a MIDI Interface, to control hardware gear from (and/or record MIDI tracks to) your computer?

Re: Midi 8 in/8 out? Answer to midi glitches???

Posted: Sun Dec 28, 2008 10:29 pm
by steveman
filtersweeperVCO wrote:... And should cubase be able to play multiple midi tracks at the same time without experience these types of glitches?? Please help me as I'm am having trouble solving this issue.
Absolutely, Cubase should have no problems playing multiple synths on multiple tracks with different sounds. I see most of the synths you use are monotimbral, so running them off one port should be OK.
It does depend on how well the instruments MIDI thru' is implemented though. On some synths this goes via software hence there is a delay or possible glitching on older synths if their processor can't keep up. Proper MIDI thru' should be a hardware buffer only which introduces no delay.

I'm currently running a BassStation Rack, DX7 & a BassStation Kbd off 1 MIDI port of my AMT8 w/o a problem, & I used to run a DX7, S760 sampler and Korg M3R (the latter 2 multi-timbral) off a single Atari MIDI port, again w/o issues.

Ideally a multi-port MIDI i/face is the way to go, but you should be able to do what you want with even a single port with the minimal amount of gear you currently have. You've 3 mono-timbral synths - that's 3 channels, that leaves 13 for your MPC, so a thru box should be fine for now.

Make sure you haven't go any MIDI feedback loops (eg. a synth resending incoming notes on it's output) as this results in stuck notes etc. Which synth are you using as the master?

Re: Midi 8 in/8 out? Answer to midi glitches???

Posted: Sun Dec 28, 2008 10:54 pm
by filtersweeperVCO
Right now I have the voyager as the controller. I am able to play all the synths by using any keyboard right now, but cubase isn't sending any midi info through the usb cable to the amt8 (8in/8out box). I 'm wondering if I need to install a driver of something seeing as I was using my presonus firebox as the midi interface before and running everything thru that way.

Re: Midi 8 in/8 out? Answer to midi glitches???

Posted: Mon Dec 29, 2008 2:42 am
by guesswho
filtersweeperVCO wrote:Right now I have the voyager as the controller. I am able to play all the synths by using any keyboard right now, but cubase isn't sending any midi info through the usb cable to the amt8 (8in/8out box). I 'm wondering if I need to install a driver of something seeing as I was using my presonus firebox as the midi interface before and running everything thru that way.


It's more than that. No drivers needed when using emagic and a mac. All that is needed is to go into:

HD/Applications/Utilities/Audio Midi Setup

From there you need to assign each port and all the instruments to said ports.

Re: Midi 8 in/8 out? Answer to midi glitches???

Posted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 7:39 am
by scope4live
I can imagine all of the active sensing the Voyager is sending.
If you can filter that out in software great.
The problem w/ software panic is that it still is heard as the filter cleans out the pipes.
I also use analog synths in a hybrid/DSP based rig and eventually solved all MIDI issues by ridding myself of the worthless active sensing.
No matter what specs. USB & MIDI lay claim to the fact is if you are having glitches and stuck notes this is unacceptable. I found that hardware filtering was necessary.
I also use the DMC MX-8 since I have had it for decades and hardware panic buttons were good back in the old days, plus program changes to allow different set ups as I use many keyboards.
I use a MIDI Solutions F8 that allows 8 x expression/footpedal switches to be used and snaked to reach racks at a distance. It is a hardware 1U that also allows filtering and custom assignments on the fly.
You might not need that but they have an event processor that has built in filtering and the software supplied w/all of their products that could work for you.
Also the ancient but useful JL Cooper Rev.2.0 8 x 8 is in most racks I run across.
Onstage software MIDI solutions are risky as performers cannot be staring at their DAW when they are suppose to be playing.

http://www.midisolutions.com

check out the app and see if it's helpful
http://www.midisolutions.com/progtool.htm