Page 1 of 2

Roland JP-8000 firmware update

Posted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 8:04 am
by firewind
Does anyone here have the v1.5 update file backup in their computer by any chance?
[-o<

The files on Roland's website are corrupted and the sequencers can't read the update .mid properly.

Their tech support is taking an aweful long time to get back to me... guess they're vacationing in NAMM.

Re: Roland JP-8000 firmware update

Posted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 10:16 pm
by Yekuku
I dont know antything about 1.5, just 1.05.
I used this file to update my JP.
If this doesnt work too , then u are doing sth wrong. Try to slow down the bpm or use another midi interface.

Re: Roland JP-8000 firmware update

Posted: Tue Jan 13, 2009 4:06 am
by firewind
May I ask which software program did you use to update?

I seperate each .mid into seperate folder and they seem to be working...
But Roland's UpdSMF.exe can not pick up the _00005.mid

This is driving me crazy!

Re: Roland JP-8000 firmware update

Posted: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:23 am
by Yekuku
Hi, it has been 3-4 years since the update, so I dont remember much :(
I used cubase sx3 to play the midi files, one by one.
If I remember correct, i had problems with checksum errors that were solved when I reduced the bpm and changed midi cables and interface.
Sth that I remember for sure is that i nearly s**t my pants because the update had finished but there was no sign that the procedure had ended and the synth was not responding although I had no checksum error. After powering it off/on everything was working ok.

Re: Roland JP-8000 firmware update

Posted: Wed Jan 28, 2009 7:58 am
by scion7000
I did every devices above, but can't help!!!

I reduced bpm 50-100 too, but not work, the checksum value is different from the manual ;
and I repeated sending data many time !!!


How can I do on ?

Because I lost the software (ver.1.0) in my JP-8000 and the display disappear anything!!
I have to send software update 1.05 to my JP-8000.


Image

Re: Roland JP-8000 firmware update

Posted: Wed Jan 28, 2009 8:26 am
by scion7000
I have 2 of JP-8000.

Can I send all data files from worked one to nonfunctional one ?
and How to?


Thank you

Re: Roland JP-8000 firmware update

Posted: Wed Jan 28, 2009 10:48 am
by scion7000
OMG!!!

I can solve this problem..

I used Yamaha QY-300 sending midi data to JP-8000, It's work and rapidly transmit.

Re: Roland JP-8000 firmware update

Posted: Wed Jan 28, 2009 12:44 pm
by Yekuku
Hey Scion,
I think u are in trouble buddy.
I am afraid that the blank screen at your JP means that the eprom that is used for storing the os is empty or corrupted.
There is no way that u can send the OS back to the synth, u can only remove the old eprom and replace it with the new one.
Since u have 2 JP's, u can take the working one and copy it to a new eprom ( by using an eprom burner), and then install this.
I hope that i am wrong :-/

Re: Roland JP-8000 firmware update

Posted: Wed Jan 28, 2009 1:23 pm
by juno106
Prolly about to fire off a stupid question, but bear with me, as I am new to the world of synths n know nothing about OS updates. Don't want to end up f'ing up my synth.

What would the purpose of the update(s) n is it really nessicary to perform them if my synth is functioning properly?
I'd assume they would be to help tings function smoother, but is it worth the trouble?

Thx

Re: Roland JP-8000 firmware update

Posted: Wed Jan 28, 2009 1:28 pm
by juno106
s**t, can't find anything on Roland's site about the JP......past or present......wtf

Re: Roland JP-8000 firmware update

Posted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 7:02 pm
by HALON
I have recently updated my JP-8000 to the 1.05 firmware and think that I can help a bit.

First off to access info on the JP-8000 on Rolands site just type "JP-8000" into their search bar or go here: http://www.rolandus.com/products/produc ... jectId=261

The first thing that I want to say is that Juno106 is sort of right in what he asked. If there is nothing wrong with the version you have then don't update the firmware. With each version they change some of the sounds and the RPS loops. I LOVED the RPS on version 1.04 but it is horrible on 1.05. Roland only has 1.05 available, even through the tech support. I have talked to them and due to "Legal" issues they can not continue to support the previous firmware versions.

My firmware update to 1.05 did not work the first 2 times I tried it. I had the same screen problem as SCION7000 when I tried to reboot it. I realized that the update software that roland supplies was sending all of the midi files in a row to the JP-8000. It does not work that way. You have to separate the files into their own folders and send them one by one. Each time you send one you have to complete the transfer on the JP-8000. You also have to reset the pitch and modulation controls.

TO UPDATE I USED:
Macbook Pro
UPD SMF Update Application (From Roland's Website)
M-Audio Uno USB to MIDI Adapter (You can get these at most Guitar Centers for about $30)
JP-8000

HERE IS THE UPDATE PROCEDURE AND CHECKSUM FOR 1.05:
Update Procedure:

1) Connect the sequencer MIDI-OUT to the JP-8000 MIDI-IN.
2) Turn on the power of the JP-8000 while holding down the [LFO1 WAVEFORM],
[OSC1 WAVEFORM], [OSC2 SYNC] and [OSC2 WAVEFORM] buttons.
3) Press REC.
4) When 'Ready to update' appears on the screen, send the first file (_00001.mid)
from your sequencer.
5) When the file is completed, verify that the checksum is indicated as below.

Block1 ( chksum = 49F8 ) => filename : '_00001.mid'.
Block2 ( chksum = 12E3 ) => filename : '_00002.mid'.
Block3 ( chksum = A146 ) => filename : '_00003.mid'.
Block4 ( chksum = E6EB ) => filename : '_00004.mid'.
Block5 ( chksum = 5455 ) => filename : '_00005.mid'.
Block6 ( chksum = 672D ) => filename : '_00006.mid'.
Block7 ( chksum = C131 ) => filename : '_00007.mid'.
Block8 ( chksum = F294 ) => filename : '_00008.mid'.

If the value is different, press [EXIT] and repeat steps 4 and 5.

6) If the value is correct, press the [REC] button.
7) Load the files one at a time, in sequence _00002.mid to _00008.mid and repeat
steps 4-6.
8 ) One all the files have been loaded, 'Completed' will be indicated on the screen.
Turn off the power of the JP-8000.

Reset Pitch Bender and Ribbon Controller Procedure:

1) Turn on power while holding [OSC2 SYNC], [-12dB/-24dB] and [FILTER TYPE] to enter Test Mode. Wait until display
indicates "[1] MIDI Test."
2) Press the [3] button to display "[3] Bend Mod."
3) Push the bender lever left fully and gradually return it to the center. Press [LOWER].
4) Push the bender lever right fully and gradually return it to the center. Press [UPPER].
5) Push the bender lever to the MOD position and then gradually return it to the original position. Press [KEY MODE].
6) When the '*' appears on the display, press [UP].
7) From the previous display, press [4] to display "[4] Ribbon."
8 ) While pressing down on the left edge of the ribbon controller, press [LOWER].
9) While pressing down on the right edge of the ribbon controller, press [UPPER].
10) While pressing down on the center of the ribbon controller, press [KEY MODE].
11) When the '*' appears on the display, press [UP].
12) Turn off the power of the JP-8000.

Use the following procedure to reset the JP-8000 to factory settings:

1) Turn on the power of the JP-8000. The unit may display "Memory Damaged."
2) While holding [SHIFT], press [INIT/UTIL].
3) Press [INIT/UTIL] repeatedly to select "INITIALIZE WRITE."
4) Use the [UP / DOWN] buttons to select "FACTORY PRESET," then press [WRITE].
After this procedure has been completed, the new version of software should be ready to go.

SCION7000, I would suggest just trying the factory setting reset on the one with the bad display and see if you can get it back up. Then worry about the firmware.

With all of this said, I recently met someone that supposedly has all of the past firmware versions for the JP-8000 as he has owned a few of them over the years. He said that he would gladly dig them out and get them to me so I can restore my JP-8000 to the 1.04 version. I will try my best to get them online soon and post a link.

If you have any questions let me know. Hope this helps.

Re: Roland JP-8000 firmware update

Posted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 1:32 am
by radek tymecki
i've used Cubase for 1.06 update

worked for me

Re: Roland JP-8000 firmware update

Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2017 7:58 pm
by Richiep34
Hi there any chance you could upload that update please as I've only got 105 and it's not updating my jp 8000 it gets stuck on midi file 5..

Re: Roland JP-8000 firmware update

Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2017 8:58 pm
by Richiep34
firewind wrote:May I ask which software program did you use to update?

I seperate each .mid into seperate folder and they seem to be working...
But Roland's UpdSMF.exe can not pick up the _00005.mid

This is driving me crazy!


This just happen to me its stuck on midi 5 lol gutted

Re: Roland JP-8000 firmware update

Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2017 9:09 pm
by Richiep34
Hi is there any chance you could upload the firmware 1.04 or 1.06 for the Jp8000 for me or know someone who has it please I've been using the SMF roland midi player thing and its getting stuck on midi file 5 like the other guy :cry: :cry: :cry:



HALON wrote:I have recently updated my JP-8000 to the 1.05 firmware and think that I can help a bit.

First off to access info on the JP-8000 on Rolands site just type "JP-8000" into their search bar or go here: http://www.rolandus.com/products/produc ... jectId=261

The first thing that I want to say is that Juno106 is sort of right in what he asked. If there is nothing wrong with the version you have then don't update the firmware. With each version they change some of the sounds and the RPS loops. I LOVED the RPS on version 1.04 but it is horrible on 1.05. Roland only has 1.05 available, even through the tech support. I have talked to them and due to "Legal" issues they can not continue to support the previous firmware versions.

My firmware update to 1.05 did not work the first 2 times I tried it. I had the same screen problem as SCION7000 when I tried to reboot it. I realized that the update software that roland supplies was sending all of the midi files in a row to the JP-8000. It does not work that way. You have to separate the files into their own folders and send them one by one. Each time you send one you have to complete the transfer on the JP-8000. You also have to reset the pitch and modulation controls.

TO UPDATE I USED:
Macbook Pro
UPD SMF Update Application (From Roland's Website)
M-Audio Uno USB to MIDI Adapter (You can get these at most Guitar Centers for about $30)
JP-8000

HERE IS THE UPDATE PROCEDURE AND CHECKSUM FOR 1.05:
Update Procedure:

1) Connect the sequencer MIDI-OUT to the JP-8000 MIDI-IN.
2) Turn on the power of the JP-8000 while holding down the [LFO1 WAVEFORM],
[OSC1 WAVEFORM], [OSC2 SYNC] and [OSC2 WAVEFORM] buttons.
3) Press REC.
4) When 'Ready to update' appears on the screen, send the first file (_00001.mid)
from your sequencer.
5) When the file is completed, verify that the checksum is indicated as below.

Block1 ( chksum = 49F8 ) => filename : '_00001.mid'.
Block2 ( chksum = 12E3 ) => filename : '_00002.mid'.
Block3 ( chksum = A146 ) => filename : '_00003.mid'.
Block4 ( chksum = E6EB ) => filename : '_00004.mid'.
Block5 ( chksum = 5455 ) => filename : '_00005.mid'.
Block6 ( chksum = 672D ) => filename : '_00006.mid'.
Block7 ( chksum = C131 ) => filename : '_00007.mid'.
Block8 ( chksum = F294 ) => filename : '_00008.mid'.

If the value is different, press [EXIT] and repeat steps 4 and 5.

6) If the value is correct, press the [REC] button.
7) Load the files one at a time, in sequence _00002.mid to _00008.mid and repeat
steps 4-6.
8 ) One all the files have been loaded, 'Completed' will be indicated on the screen.
Turn off the power of the JP-8000.

Reset Pitch Bender and Ribbon Controller Procedure:

1) Turn on power while holding [OSC2 SYNC], [-12dB/-24dB] and [FILTER TYPE] to enter Test Mode. Wait until display
indicates "[1] MIDI Test."
2) Press the [3] button to display "[3] Bend Mod."
3) Push the bender lever left fully and gradually return it to the center. Press [LOWER].
4) Push the bender lever right fully and gradually return it to the center. Press [UPPER].
5) Push the bender lever to the MOD position and then gradually return it to the original position. Press [KEY MODE].
6) When the '*' appears on the display, press [UP].
7) From the previous display, press [4] to display "[4] Ribbon."
8 ) While pressing down on the left edge of the ribbon controller, press [LOWER].
9) While pressing down on the right edge of the ribbon controller, press [UPPER].
10) While pressing down on the center of the ribbon controller, press [KEY MODE].
11) When the '*' appears on the display, press [UP].
12) Turn off the power of the JP-8000.

Use the following procedure to reset the JP-8000 to factory settings:

1) Turn on the power of the JP-8000. The unit may display "Memory Damaged."
2) While holding [SHIFT], press [INIT/UTIL].
3) Press [INIT/UTIL] repeatedly to select "INITIALIZE WRITE."
4) Use the [UP / DOWN] buttons to select "FACTORY PRESET," then press [WRITE].
After this procedure has been completed, the new version of software should be ready to go.

SCION7000, I would suggest just trying the factory setting reset on the one with the bad display and see if you can get it back up. Then worry about the firmware.

With all of this said, I recently met someone that supposedly has all of the past firmware versions for the JP-8000 as he has owned a few of them over the years. He said that he would gladly dig them out and get them to me so I can restore my JP-8000 to the 1.04 version. I will try my best to get them online soon and post a link.

If you have any questions let me know. Hope this helps.