Jupiter 6 help (locked up)

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
Synthlover
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 7:20 pm

Jupiter 6 help (locked up)

Post by Synthlover » Fri Jan 30, 2009 3:00 pm

I have read that a weak or dead battery could be the cause of my Jupiter being locked up. Would anyone know this for sure and would a new battery clear the lockup problem? I did take a reading and it barley reaches 2 volts. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!


I have a Roland Jupiter 6 that powers up but has no sound. Can anyone recommend a tech in the U.S. preferably on the east coast ?

Thanks!
Last edited by Synthlover on Sun Feb 01, 2009 5:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Z
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3514
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 3:08 am
Gear: Bubble wrap, Styrofoam, boxes, packing tape
Location: Docking Bay 94 (Dallas, TX)
Contact:

Re: Jupiter 6 help

Post by Z » Fri Jan 30, 2009 4:38 pm

Surely you can find someone near you if you look at the sticky thread of synth techs.

Synthlover
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 7:20 pm

Re: Jupiter 6 help

Post by Synthlover » Fri Jan 30, 2009 7:48 pm

Z wrote:Surely you can find someone near you if you look at the sticky thread of synth techs.
THANKS!

Synthlover
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 7:20 pm

Re: Jupiter 6 help (locked up)

Post by Synthlover » Sat Jan 31, 2009 5:37 pm

Would anyone out there know what the cause may be for a locked up Jupiter 6?

Problem is: I turn it on but I can't switch any of the patches etc. The only things I can turn on an off are the left side controls by the pitch bender. Also it makes no sound.

Any ideas or thoughts to what it could be? I did remove the side plates and 3 top panel screws to take a look inside. I did test the battery and it barley reach's 2 volts. It is the original. Would this and have any affect on the machine being locked up?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks.

Synthlover
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 7:20 pm

Re: Jupiter 6 help (locked up)

Post by Synthlover » Sun Feb 01, 2009 5:55 pm

Bump...

User avatar
Synthaholic
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1206
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 5:43 pm
Gear: Motif XS6, TX802, D-550, A6
Location: NH

Re: Jupiter 6 help (locked up)

Post by Synthaholic » Sun Feb 01, 2009 9:33 pm

I'd start with that battery. The voltage should be 3+ volts.

Otherwise, the problem is probably the CPU board, which is the board the battery is on.
Two VCO: thanks to the push rods, one can choose several forms of waves at the same time!
(from a Babelfish translation of a Jupiter-6 site)

Yamaha: Motif XS6, TX802 Roland: D-550 Alesis: A6 Andromeda

User avatar
fOZf8
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2004 6:05 pm
Location: Wisconsin, US
Contact:

Re: Jupiter 6 help (locked up)

Post by fOZf8 » Sun Feb 01, 2009 10:52 pm

this happened to my friends Jupiter 6...or at least it extremely similar. We were able to fix it by sending it a specific control change from the computer. I don't remember if the local was just turned off or what, but I remember the it was a higher cc#, right near the end of them.
Radio Electro(u)nique
Limbik Frequencies
---
Mindset Studio Music and Media
Mindsetstudios

Steve Jones
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 565
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 10:40 pm
Real name: Steve
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Re: Jupiter 6 help (locked up)

Post by Steve Jones » Mon Feb 02, 2009 4:01 am

2V is too low....
Synthesizer service tech since 1982.
Synth parts and service, Sydney Australia.

Synthlover
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 7:20 pm

Re: Jupiter 6 help (locked up)

Post by Synthlover » Mon Feb 02, 2009 11:29 am

Steve Jones wrote:2V is too low....
Thanks guys for the reply's!! Steve, I'm going to replace the battery. Do you think it will unlock it so that I can load the factory settings?

Thanks again.

Steve Jones
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 565
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 10:40 pm
Real name: Steve
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Re: Jupiter 6 help (locked up)

Post by Steve Jones » Mon Feb 02, 2009 11:36 am

Don't know, there would be a diode in there to keep the battery from charging off the 5V rail to the RAM when the machine is on, and another to prevent the battery from trying to power the while synth when the mains is off, so these would prevent the battery from actually holding down the RAM down, but change it anyway and see if you get lucky. If it doesn't help I will get the service manual out and see what else is likely to be an issue.
Synthesizer service tech since 1982.
Synth parts and service, Sydney Australia.

Synthlover
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 7:20 pm

Re: Jupiter 6 help (locked up)

Post by Synthlover » Mon Feb 02, 2009 11:48 am

Steve Jones wrote:Don't know, there would be a diode in there to keep the battery from charging off the 5V rail to the RAM when the machine is on, and another to prevent the battery from trying to power the while synth when the mains is off, so these would prevent the battery from actually holding down the RAM down, but change it anyway and see if you get lucky. If it doesn't help I will get the service manual out and see what else is likely to be an issue.
Okay I will order the battery today. I'll keep you posted Steve. THANKS AGAIN!

Post Reply