Novation bass station help (it doesn't make a sound)

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
jbaloh
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 5:35 pm

Novation bass station help (it doesn't make a sound)

Post by jbaloh » Sat Mar 07, 2009 5:54 pm

I just bought my first synth, a Bass station (keyboard), and after switching the "util.mode" switch, it doesn't make any sound (even when the switch is in the off position)...

is there something I should do or is it a bad switch? It's my first synth so I'm not sure if I can get "lost" in the modes...

one more thing - there is some noise coming from the synth and it stops at max. volume.... this confuses me as usually, the noise is the worst at max. volume... what's up with that?

thanks for help!

regards,
Jure

radek tymecki
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 434
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2006 9:04 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Novation bass station help (it doesn't make a sound)

Post by radek tymecki » Sat Mar 07, 2009 9:28 pm

i had same problem with 3 bass stations... still dunno what was the reason - seems to be a popular problem...

jbaloh
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 5:35 pm

Re: Novation bass station help (it doesn't make a sound)

Post by jbaloh » Sun Mar 08, 2009 9:22 am

I found the solution in the manual (the last place I always look, hehe). You can find the manual on Novation's webpage...

When the Utility mode switch is in the Keyboard position, you can program your keyboard... I apparently programmed my keys transmit and receive channels to different ones... So, to undo that, I had to go back to the Keyboard mode, press TX key and then select a channel (in my case ch.1), press RX key and select the SAME channel.

That is actually pointed out in the manual (what to do when your BS doesn't make a sound)...

now, the noise problem... I'll have to learn to live with it or get it fixed... it really ain't that bad, it was more apparent when the BS wasn't making any other sound :))

User avatar
Dane_Xoth
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2004 1:42 am
Gear: Attack uWXT Edition uQ Prophecy, W/S ex, MS 2Kr ER1 EA1 RADIAS
A X V Bk Br D SB Station,
DJ70mII R-70 S760
Spectrum Bass+Synth
FB383
Absinthe
Band: Dane[X]oth, Dortmunder
Location: Toronto

Re: Novation bass station help (it doesn't make a sound)

Post by Dane_Xoth » Wed Mar 11, 2009 9:38 am

I did the same thing myself! LOL
Bend it to fit, Paint it to match.

User avatar
analoglsd
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 578
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:53 am
Real name: Lance
Gear: Buchla Music Easel, TE OP-1, Korg MS-20, Yamaha RS-7000, Effects Pedals
Location: Oakland, CA
Contact:

Re: Novation bass station help (it doesn't make a sound)

Post by analoglsd » Wed Oct 21, 2009 5:36 am

Thanks!
This thread just brought a Bass Station that I recently picked up back to life.
We couldn't figure out why the keyboard wasn't working.

User avatar
nadafarms
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 1067
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 7:33 am
Location: NorCal

Re: Novation bass station help (it doesn't make a sound)

Post by nadafarms » Wed Oct 21, 2009 6:00 am

So funny because I remember freaking out a couple times at a live show when suddenly I changed the midi channels on accident and I thought the synth was fried!
for sale/trade: EML-101

Post Reply