Yamaha DX11 RAM Battery Change But Still No Sound!

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
betazag
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 7:51 pm

Yamaha DX11 RAM Battery Change But Still No Sound!

Post by betazag » Sat Mar 07, 2009 8:06 pm

Looking for some help. I have a Yamaha DX11 that needed a new RAM battery; it would make a tone sound when played and the display read "Needs RAM Battery". I removed the old battery and soldered in a battery holder and installed new battery. I bought a recovery data disk, successfully loaded in the Performance data and the Sound data. Display now shows the different patches or sounds but I am getting no sound. I tried to load Setup data and got an error message every time. I don't know what the problem is. Any suggestions? Thanks, Marconi

User avatar
rhino
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 2611
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 5:00 pm
Real name: bill
Gear: keepers:
Kurzweil K2500x
Ensoniq TS-12
Yamaha SY-99
Alesis QS-8
Roland JD-800
Roland JX-10
Akai AX-80
Ensoniq SQ-80
Korg DSS-1
Moog Mini
Fizmo
Location: kentucky hills

Re: Yamaha DX11 RAM Battery Change But Still No Sound!

Post by rhino » Sun Mar 08, 2009 12:58 am

when you pulled the battery and wiped the memory, could sone parameter like LOCAL ON have gotten changed?
When the wise man points to the stars, the fool looks at the finger.
- Confucius

radek tymecki
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 436
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2006 9:04 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Yamaha DX11 RAM Battery Change But Still No Sound!

Post by radek tymecki » Sun Mar 08, 2009 2:06 pm

i don't remember if dx11 had sth like local on/off...

try loading diffrent patches or sth... or init sound?

User avatar
Pilot352
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 9:39 pm
Location: Darien, Il.

Re: 23

Post by Pilot352 » Sun Mar 08, 2009 7:15 pm

uuuio520 wrote:Bump up then lurk
CHAPTER XXIII

  Pierre well knew this large room divided by columns and an arch, its walls hung round with Persian carpets. The part of the room behind the columns, with a high silk-curtained...
Ok, that was about the most worthless post I've read here. What the f**k does that have to do with a DX11 battery... Oh wait, it doesn't. Sounds like a good chance to ban someone!!!

Wait, did I say read? Nope, I didn't waist my time reading that gibberish!

As for the DX11, there is a local ON/OFF under the MIDI menu. However, I recommend you restore all the patches first. If you still have problems, pm me and I might be able to help. I own a DX11 and may be able to walk you through it.
Analog: Mono/Poly, Prophet '08, Juno 106
Digital: Kurzweil SP88, Yamaha DX11, Kawai K4, MS2K, AN1x
Modules: Triton (loaded), Motif ES, MS2KR, E-Mu Proteus 2K, TR626 DM, Roland U220
New Addition: Fender Rhodes 73 Mark I
So much gear... So little time!!!

betazag
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 7:51 pm

Re: Yamaha DX11 RAM Battery Change But Still No Sound!

Post by betazag » Thu Mar 12, 2009 1:04 am

Thanks for the advice. I will look at the DX11 tomorrow and see if I can get it going. I am working on a Roland JX8P right now...ready to list it on ebay. That is where the DX will go as soon as I get it going. Marconi

Post Reply