Yamaha DX-7 Help

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
charlesm20
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 2:04 am

Yamaha DX-7 Help

Post by charlesm20 » Tue Apr 07, 2009 3:00 am

HI, i have two yamaha dx- 7.change them the battery and now itself does not sound. listen that it there was that reprograming. help please.. Very Thank

gcoudert
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1198
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:24 pm
Real name: Gilles
Gear: Roland Fantom X7 with Ultimate Keys expansion, Yamaha TX802, Roland JP-8080, Tascam DP-24SD.
Location: SE England

Re: Yamaha DX-7 Help

Post by gcoudert » Tue Apr 07, 2009 12:12 pm

You need to reload your sounds either via Sysex or by reprogramming them.
GC

User avatar
killertofu
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 12:50 am

Re: Yamaha DX-7 Help

Post by killertofu » Tue Apr 07, 2009 3:32 pm

If you have the DX7 MK1, this info will apply. You need to connect your DX7 to a computer with a Midi cable (Computer Midi Out to DX7 Midi In)

Turn on the DX7. Press the green "MEMORY PROTECT- INTERNAL" button.
Press "No -1" to turn off memory protection.

Press "Function" then press the #8 twice. The screen should say "SYS INFO UNAVAILABLE."
Use the Data Slider until that value says "SYS INFO AVAILABLE"

Then use a program of your choice to reload the sounds. I am on Mac and like to use SysEx Librarian.
If you look around on google you can find the original banks, plus many many more.

Good luck!

Post Reply