Dead JX-3P - what to do?

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.

Dead JX-3P - what to do?

Postby ChefDeadpool » Sat Aug 15, 2009 9:03 pm

Okay, I have a completely dead JX-3P that was given to me by a friend. I'd like to get it going again. I opened it up and it has that burnt electronics smell, but I can't find anything damaged. Where do I start diagnosing this? I've never worked on a synthesizer before.

Thanks!
ChefDeadpool

Re: Dead JX-3P - what to do?

Postby HideawayStudio » Sat Aug 15, 2009 9:17 pm

ChefDeadpool wrote:Okay, I have a completely dead JX-3P that was given to me by a friend. I'd like to get it going again. I opened it up and it has that burnt electronics smell, but I can't find anything damaged. Where do I start diagnosing this? I've never worked on a synthesizer before.

Thanks!

Firstly - is it completely dead? ie. no LEDs no sound?
HideawayStudio
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!

Gear: 163 tubes in a large wooden box!
Band: Shortwave

Postby rhino » Sun Aug 16, 2009 12:23 am

sometimes totaly dead ones are easy,,,sometimes not.
start with the basics:
fuse blown, new fuse blows too?
power socket and switch?
AC OUT of the xformer?
DC out of the rectifiers?
DC out of the regulators?

Loose or swapped connectors?
voltages on mainboard?
master clock running?

let us know

PS see post about SH-2000 for tech help.
When the wise man points to the stars, the fool looks at the finger.
- Confucius
rhino
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!

Gear: keepers:
Kurzweil K2500x
Ensoniq TS-12
Yamaha SY-99
Alesis QS-8
Roland JD-800
Roland JX-10
Akai AX-80
Ensoniq SQ-80
Korg DSS-1
Moog Mini
Fizmo

Postby HideawayStudio » Sun Aug 16, 2009 2:51 pm

rhino wrote:sometimes totaly dead ones are easy,,,sometimes not.