problem with Oberheim Matrix 1000

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
User avatar
mudhoney
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 2:37 pm
Gear: Yamaha Dx7
Oberheim Mini Grand
Oberheim Matrix 1000
Peavey Spectrum Organ
Jomox Airbase 99
Doepfer MS-404
Waveidea Bitstream 3x
Location: Terni, Italy
Contact:

problem with Oberheim Matrix 1000

Post by mudhoney » Tue Oct 06, 2009 2:44 pm

I've a question for you: in my matrix 1000 one of the DCOs (i don't remember if number 1 or 2), when the wave is set in "pulse" mode has a problem: some notes don't sound! no problem when in "wave" mode (but again in "both", that is wave and pulse together...in certain notes you only hear the wave part and not the pulse). Have you an idea of what can be?

Mooger5
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1459
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 5:11 pm
Location: Lisbon

Re: problem with Oberheim Matrix 1000

Post by Mooger5 » Tue Oct 06, 2009 7:03 pm

Sounds like a faulty voicechip. It´s a common problem in the M1000. There´s a test mode for identifying the voices. I can´t recall the procedure right now, but it´s easy. It´s online somewhere. I got a new chip from the Cheetah MS-6 resource page for 15 Euros or so and replaced the bad one. Easy fix. I can post the links later, if you don´t find them.

Good luck.
Herrare umanum est.

User avatar
MIDI_Thru_Kid
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 169
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2009 11:22 pm
Real name: Alex
Gear: KORG Radias
Roland JX-3P
Roland TR-505
Roland TR-626
Yamaha RX5
Yamaha TX7
hobnox.com
Drum Samples (All of them)
Yamaha Trombone
Band: MIDI Thru
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: problem with Oberheim Matrix 1000

Post by MIDI_Thru_Kid » Tue Oct 06, 2009 8:22 pm

Hmm. Dang. Is this a FREQUENT problem with Matrix 1000's? Are these voice chips relatively readily available? Just wondering...
-Alex

Image
"What I've noticed about this hobby/career is... You Just Can't Stop."

User avatar
taskoni
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 10:17 pm
Gear: Fun cost money - how hard you want to laugh
Location: Lithuania / Bulgaria

Re: problem with Oberheim Matrix 1000

Post by taskoni » Tue Oct 06, 2009 8:54 pm

You can still find those chips here and there...

For US is more easy: http://www.synthtech.com

Back to topic - I have Matrix 1000 and I am stupid :oops: How you actually run that test?
I read the manual 1000 times and I can not get it still :(
Pressing enter in test mode shows "0" on the display... I have the same issue like the original post folk with not sounding notes but I am surviving because I stuck 2 Matrix 1000 and one 6R together...
Of course I would love to layer or detune all three of them so help me please to run that test [-o<
Regards,
b.

Mooger5
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1459
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 5:11 pm
Location: Lisbon

Re: problem with Oberheim Matrix 1000

Post by Mooger5 » Tue Oct 06, 2009 9:05 pm

It´s the only real malfunction I see reported on the net, aside from the humming problems due to a design error in the older units (I shut the hum on mine by disconneting the safety earth...) and the eventual dead battery. The bad chip was already there when I bought the synth and for the two years or so that I kept mine, none of the older chips failed. It´s a CEM3396 - narrow version. There are six in total, one per each voice. It has been reported the cheap sockets corrode overtime and so it´s possible to clean the contacts just by pulling and reinserting the chips, but I even resoldered the joints and swapped the chips and it was always the same one.

Here´s the site where I bought the replacement from http://www.maad.net/ms6/
Herrare umanum est.

Mooger5
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1459
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 5:11 pm
Location: Lisbon

Re: problem with Oberheim Matrix 1000

Post by Mooger5 » Tue Oct 06, 2009 9:13 pm

taskoni wrote:How you actually run that test?
If I remember well there´s a good explanation online. Better than going through all the manual again. Let me see if I can find it...
Herrare umanum est.

Mooger5
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1459
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 5:11 pm
Location: Lisbon

Re: problem with Oberheim Matrix 1000

Post by Mooger5 » Tue Oct 06, 2009 9:27 pm

Nope... I thought it was here http://wolzow.mindworks.ee/analog/m1k.htm. I probably read it in a Yahoo group. Anyway I remember it´s also in the User Manual. Page 39 - Test Mode 1 - Voice Display.
Herrare umanum est.

User avatar
mudhoney
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 2:37 pm
Gear: Yamaha Dx7
Oberheim Mini Grand
Oberheim Matrix 1000
Peavey Spectrum Organ
Jomox Airbase 99
Doepfer MS-404
Waveidea Bitstream 3x
Location: Terni, Italy
Contact:

Re: problem with Oberheim Matrix 1000

Post by mudhoney » Tue Oct 06, 2009 10:23 pm

Ok, I've made the test. The mute notes are related to voice 1 and voice 4. How can i know what chip in my synth is what number of voice ? only try and errors ? Then I buy 2 chips here ( http://www.maad.net/ms6/ ) for 24 euros, i change them with the broken ones and I win, it's allirght?

Mooger5
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1459
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 5:11 pm
Location: Lisbon

Re: problem with Oberheim Matrix 1000

Post by Mooger5 » Tue Oct 06, 2009 10:58 pm

Yep, that´s it. With the front panel facing you voicechips 1...6 start from right to left. Pay attention to the chip´s orientation: there should be a small dent or a dot indicating pin number 1. Turn the unit off and unplug the mains cable. With the cable plugged-in there are still live parts inside...

Good luck.
Herrare umanum est.

User avatar
shaft9000
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 2042
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:13 am
Real name: Dave
Gear: Whips chains waxes oils dildos DMT TNT the LHC, and a black rubber duckie
Band: moneymoneymoney
Location: VanNuys, CA USA
Contact:

Re: problem with Oberheim Matrix 1000

Post by shaft9000 » Wed Oct 07, 2009 9:36 am

THANKS GUYS!!

my matrix1000 has had a dead voice for 5 years. i have had a spare CEM chip taped to the back of it for about two years, but never got around to getting it repaired. i figured i'd be paying 50-100 bucks to have a tech do it - hence the procrastination.
this info gave me the confidence to open her up and have a go at replacing the chip, and it worked!

Image virtual beers all-around Image
taskoni wrote: How you actually run that test?
I read the manual 1000 times and I can not get it still :(
Pressing enter in test mode shows "0" on the display... I have the same issue like the original post folk with not sounding notes but I am surviving because I stuck 2 Matrix 1000 and one 6R together...
Of course I would love to layer or detune all three of them so help me please to run that test [-o<
Regards,
b.
it seems like you might have missed the part that says "the - and + keys change the test number"
i know i did the first few times i tried.

so the steps are:

1. press select until the LED for 'Ext Function' is lit
2. press button 7
3. press enter
4. press + key
5. press enter
when fully functional it should then display the first display digit as the voice # being activated, cycling through # 1-6.
try using a patch with a long release and a short attack - so you can hear all the voices trigger and then cut out when the poly limit is reached.
2600.solus.modcan a.eurorack.cs60.JP8.Juno6.A6.sunsyn.volcakeys.jd990.tb303.x0xb0x.revolution.
999.m1am1.RY30.svc350.memotron

shaft9000.muffwiggler.com <- singles & mixtape
shaft9000.bandcamp.com <- spacemusic album
youtube.com/shaft9000 <- various synth demos and studies

User avatar
taskoni
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 10:17 pm
Gear: Fun cost money - how hard you want to laugh
Location: Lithuania / Bulgaria

Re: problem with Oberheim Matrix 1000

Post by taskoni » Wed Oct 07, 2009 9:25 pm

it seems like you might have missed the part that says "the - and + keys change the test number"
i know i did the first few times i tried.
:D YES, I did missed that part!
Thank you very much indeed for the detailed guide thru post!
Regards!

P.S.
Since we are in the HELP section and I am not posting anything that will help anybody I'll bump the other post that was above ;)

User avatar
taskoni
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 10:17 pm
Gear: Fun cost money - how hard you want to laugh
Location: Lithuania / Bulgaria

Re: problem with Oberheim Matrix 1000

Post by taskoni » Wed Oct 07, 2009 9:26 pm

it seems like you might have missed the part that says "the - and + keys change the test number"
i know i did the first few times i tried.
:D YES, I did missed that part!
Thank you very much indeed for the detailed guide thru post!
Regards!

P.S.
Since we are in the HELP section and I am not posting anything that will help anybody I'll bump the other post that was above ;)

Mooger5
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1459
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 5:11 pm
Location: Lisbon

Re: problem with Oberheim Matrix 1000

Post by Mooger5 » Thu Oct 08, 2009 12:20 am

Good to know it works, Shaft9000. Cheers!
To all: don´t forget, after the fix use the synth´s autocalibrate/autotune function.
Herrare umanum est.

User avatar
mudhoney
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 2:37 pm
Gear: Yamaha Dx7
Oberheim Mini Grand
Oberheim Matrix 1000
Peavey Spectrum Organ
Jomox Airbase 99
Doepfer MS-404
Waveidea Bitstream 3x
Location: Terni, Italy
Contact:

Re: problem with Oberheim Matrix 1000

Post by mudhoney » Sun Oct 25, 2009 1:26 am

today i've changed the chips...it WORKS !!!

Thank you all ;)

FlavioB
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 14, 2015 12:17 pm

Re: problem with Oberheim Matrix 1000

Post by FlavioB » Sun Oct 04, 2015 1:28 pm

Hi everybody.
So I seem to have a similar issue: all voices really do sound, but on some patches, you can hear a note dropping in volume or something like that. I have no clue what the issue could be. I ran the test as explained and each voice is being displayed on the left part of the display as it is sounding. So: no voice chip dead, correct?

Can anybody help me out here?
Thanks,
Flavio.

Post Reply