EDIT: Polysix: TC5514 substitute?

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
rjd2
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 301
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 2:23 am

EDIT: Polysix: TC5514 substitute?

Post by rjd2 » Thu Nov 12, 2009 4:03 am

see below...
Last edited by rjd2 on Sat Nov 28, 2009 5:13 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6102
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Logic Pro X

Re: 8048 IC for Korg Polysix. 40-pin DIP: sub?

Post by meatballfulton » Thu Nov 12, 2009 1:51 pm

The 8048 is an Intel microprocessor. Contact Mouser about the availability of the DIP version.
I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.

rjd2
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 301
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 2:23 am

Re: 8048 IC for Korg Polysix. 40-pin DIP: sub?

Post by rjd2 » Thu Nov 12, 2009 2:22 pm

thanks. is the 8049 a drop-in replacement?

cutoffres
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 2:24 pm
Location: Europe

Re: 8048 IC for Korg Polysix. 40-pin DIP: sub?

Post by cutoffres » Thu Nov 12, 2009 5:47 pm

i have a poly61 carcass here, think it has an 8049 in it;
Hello ! Sorry for you but 8048 and 8049C 217 are not compatible they are not the same parts .

But for me a working 8049 217 it will be very usefull to repair my Polysix , that's the part i need . If you would be agree to sell it to me it would be great !? if agree PM me .

For your repair : 8049 217 is for Key assigner and 8048 is for patch assigner .
Remenber me the actual symptoms of your Polysix i will try to help you

radek tymecki
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 436
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2006 9:04 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: 8048 IC for Korg Polysix. 40-pin DIP: sub?

Post by radek tymecki » Thu Nov 12, 2009 8:31 pm

for p6 u can use 8048 and 8049. u need bin file with os

plus321
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 299
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 2:44 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Re: 8048 IC for Korg Polysix. 40-pin DIP: sub?

Post by plus321 » Fri Nov 20, 2009 11:46 pm

cutoffres wrote:
i have a poly61 carcass here, think it has an 8049 in it;
Hello ! Sorry for you but 8048 and 8049C 217 are not compatible they are not the same parts .

But for me a working 8049 217 it will be very usefull to repair my Polysix , that's the part i need . If you would be agree to sell it to me it would be great !? if agree PM me .

For your repair : 8049 217 is for Key assigner and 8048 is for patch assigner .
Remenber me the actual symptoms of your Polysix i will try to help you
Hello, I have this part. I may be willing to sell it to someone who needs it. Send me a private message if you are interested.

radek tymecki
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 436
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2006 9:04 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: 8048 IC for Korg Polysix. 40-pin DIP: sub?

Post by radek tymecki » Sat Nov 21, 2009 9:20 am

8048 and 8049 are programmable cpu's. if you have os you can program both

here's OS for polysix

http://www.jeanmicheljarre.pl/radek/pcb/KLM8048.BIN

and scaled down pcb

Image

rjd2
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 301
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 2:23 am

Re: EDIT: Polysix won't write to locations. culprit?

Post by rjd2 » Wed Nov 25, 2009 2:18 am

so i have been over this KLM367 board for weeks now, and verified all of the traces around IC 30 and31 were repaired. i have 2 pairs of 74LS08 IC's, and i've tried both pairs, with the same results.

all the other issues with the machine seem to be resolved, and initially, the machine allowed me to write to locations. i then started working on an MG MOD issue, which is now resolved, but i cant write to a location. it will enter into "enable" mode, and the "write" button flashes, but when you return to a location, the parameters arent changed. also, the "write" button stays lit as long as you leave it enabled.

can anyone diagnose exactly which section would be responsible for this? is it JUST IC's 30 and 31 on the 367 board, or should i be focused elsewhere on the 367 board, or otherwise? thanks, rj

rjd2
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 301
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 2:23 am

Re: EDIT: Polysix: TC5514 substitute?

Post by rjd2 » Sat Nov 28, 2009 5:15 pm

ok, i think im closer:

my next step will be to replace the TC5514 cmos ram. its an 18-pin IC. i can't find anything on mouser as a workable substitute, but im sure there are other search options im not using.

what can i use? or do i really need to track down the obsolete TC5514? there's gotta be a modern equivalent for a 4-bit cmos ram, right?

User avatar
nathanscribe
VSE Review Contributor
VSE Review Contributor
Posts: 2889
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 1:03 pm
Location: The right side of the Pennines
Contact:

Re: EDIT: Polysix: TC5514 substitute?

Post by nathanscribe » Sat Nov 28, 2009 9:59 pm

Ahaha, not necessarily. RAM goes out of fashion like going out of fashion is the most fashionable thing to do.

User avatar
rhino
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 2611
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 5:00 pm
Real name: bill
Gear: keepers:
Kurzweil K2500x
Ensoniq TS-12
Yamaha SY-99
Alesis QS-8
Roland JD-800
Roland JX-10
Akai AX-80
Ensoniq SQ-80
Korg DSS-1
Moog Mini
Fizmo
Location: kentucky hills

Re: EDIT: Polysix: TC5514 substitute?

Post by rhino » Sun Nov 29, 2009 3:23 pm

i'm no expert, but i wonder if this would work:

http://www.jameco.com/webapp/wcs/stores ... eyCode=WSF


pin-out is the same, speed is same. for less than $3 you might give it a try.
When the wise man points to the stars, the fool looks at the finger.
- Confucius

rjd2
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 301
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 2:23 am

Re: EDIT: Polysix: TC5514 substitute?

Post by rjd2 » Sun Nov 29, 2009 4:18 pm

thanks rhino! unfortunately i just got impatient and paid 13 bucks for one on ebay. whatever. im sure that works; i have read that the 6514 is the same family as 5514. that's good to know, though; P6 restorers might have use for that info.

cutoffres
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 2:24 pm
Location: Europe

Re: EDIT: Polysix: TC5514 substitute?

Post by cutoffres » Wed Dec 09, 2009 5:26 pm

Off Topic
A message to radek tymecki :

Hello Radek, You've got software for 8048 , but would you have software for 8049 ?
I need it .
Thanks

for who wants to know what i'm looking for :
I'm looking for the program who is in the part D8049C 217 , this part is in the Korg Polysix Key assigner section .
Thanks to all , and sorry for the off topic .

Juan
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 10:27 pm

Re: 8048 IC for Korg Polysix. 40-pin DIP: sub?

Post by Juan » Wed Feb 06, 2013 11:21 pm

Hello Radek. do you have the hex file for d8049 384 of Poly?

radek tymecki
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 436
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2006 9:04 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: EDIT: Polysix: TC5514 substitute?

Post by radek tymecki » Fri Feb 08, 2013 9:08 pm

i have only bin. it works for 8048/49 etc :)

Post Reply