dead alesis ion main output pre-amp FIXED!!

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
User avatar
danialad
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 9:36 pm
Real name: danial
Gear: Alesis Ion
Casiotone 403
Band: gypsy(moths)
Location: Portland, ME
Contact:

Re: dead alesis ion main output pre-amp HELP!

Post by danialad » Thu Feb 25, 2010 3:59 am

man-009, thanks. tested and i've got v1.06... which i assume is the newest. is there anyway you can test the volume pot thing i mentioned in my last post? that would confirm i need to replace my volume pot.
[the gypsy moth project]

have: alesis ion, casiotone 403
had: akai ax-80, korg poly-800, roland juno-6, korg er-1,
alesis sr-16, yamaha tx802, korg dw/ex-8000, korg ms2000

man-009
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 398
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 11:54 pm
Band: Man-009

Re: dead alesis ion main output pre-amp HELP!

Post by man-009 » Thu Feb 25, 2010 5:46 am

don't know? sorry- but it's good you have the new OS 1.06!

Ry-Fi
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 203
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 9:40 am
Gear: Ion, MKS-30, MKS-50, SQ-1+ 32-voice, TX81Z
Location: Regina, SK
Contact:

Re: dead alesis ion main output pre-amp HELP!

Post by Ry-Fi » Thu Feb 25, 2010 10:29 am

MAN-009 (Tim), you sent me a PM but I couldn't respond because you have PM'ing disabled :-S

Looks like you know what you need to do though.

User avatar
Yekuku
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 603
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 11:29 am
Gear: dk'tronics speech synthesizer :P
Location: Greece

Re: dead alesis ion main output pre-amp HELP!

Post by Yekuku » Thu Feb 25, 2010 10:33 am

I am sorry to hear that replacing the fets did not solve your problem. A broken volume pot was the most obvious reason, but the faulty fets are famous for causing this behaviour.
Anyway, u can run ion's diagnostic mode by following the instructions on p18 from the service manual, but I am afraid that there is no test for the volume pot.
It is all about sharing...

man-009
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 398
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 11:54 pm
Band: Man-009

Re: dead alesis ion main output pre-amp HELP!

Post by man-009 » Thu Feb 25, 2010 10:17 pm

sorry Ry-Fi. will look into that..:)

User avatar
EmptySet
VSE Review Contributor
VSE Review Contributor
Posts: 474
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2006 10:33 am
Gear: MS20, x0xb0x, JV-1080, JX-3P, JX-8P(PG800), Juno Stage, VFX-SD, VL-1, ARP Omni I, D-50, DW6000
Location: Illinois, USA

Re: dead alesis ion main output pre-amp HELP!

Post by EmptySet » Fri Feb 26, 2010 6:20 am

man-009 wrote:about my ion, unfortunately, i noticed the Ion self editing tonight. the synth was idle. i left it with the preset sound name on the screen. went up stairs for about 15min then came down and the screen was on the filter screen? this happened two other times tonight. so i guess i got the self editing prob now. sucks! ......( just added ) I found out i have OS 1.00 in my ion. very old. i need to put OS 1.06 in my Ion asap! this may fix the bug i read.
I am having problems with this self-editing issue too and I already have the latest OS upgrade. So, that's not going to fix it. When I emailed Alesis about this awhile ago, they weren't at all helpful. They said it needed to be repaired, but they couldn't offer me the name of any place that would actually repair it. (and I live in the same state as Chicago) Does anyone know about this issue and even better, know if there is a remedy?

User avatar
danialad
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 9:36 pm
Real name: danial
Gear: Alesis Ion
Casiotone 403
Band: gypsy(moths)
Location: Portland, ME
Contact:

Re: dead alesis ion main output pre-amp HELP!

Post by danialad » Fri Feb 26, 2010 6:23 am

this self editing is news to me. does it happen while the synth is being played? or only when it sits for awhile?
[the gypsy moth project]

have: alesis ion, casiotone 403
had: akai ax-80, korg poly-800, roland juno-6, korg er-1,
alesis sr-16, yamaha tx802, korg dw/ex-8000, korg ms2000

User avatar
EmptySet
VSE Review Contributor
VSE Review Contributor
Posts: 474
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2006 10:33 am
Gear: MS20, x0xb0x, JV-1080, JX-3P, JX-8P(PG800), Juno Stage, VFX-SD, VL-1, ARP Omni I, D-50, DW6000
Location: Illinois, USA

Re: dead alesis ion main output pre-amp HELP!

Post by EmptySet » Fri Feb 26, 2010 7:29 am

danialad wrote:this self editing is news to me. does it happen while the synth is being played? or only when it sits for awhile?
Either way. It basically displays a screen as if you had just edited a parameter. For me, it shows the ADSR.

man-009
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 398
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 11:54 pm
Band: Man-009

Re: dead alesis ion main output pre-amp HELP!

Post by man-009 » Fri Feb 26, 2010 10:35 am

it's random. i noticed it more not playing it here on my end. but i still love the synth and should upgrade the OS asap anyways. maybe it will help mine? some people don't have issues with v1.06. just make sure before you buy one to ask questions first as i did, but was lied to about the condition big time.

User avatar
danialad
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 9:36 pm
Real name: danial
Gear: Alesis Ion
Casiotone 403
Band: gypsy(moths)
Location: Portland, ME
Contact:

Re: dead alesis ion main output pre-amp HELP!

Post by danialad » Wed Mar 03, 2010 7:58 pm

she's all better now! replacing the volume pot did the trick! so now i've got a fully working ion with OS1.6, new jfets and a new volume pot... woo!

next step... paint'r (burnt orange(?) w/ black side panels),put on the new knobs (black w/ chrome tips), and make/apply all new (most likely black) decals.

can't decide if i want to go glossy or not. hm.
[the gypsy moth project]

have: alesis ion, casiotone 403
had: akai ax-80, korg poly-800, roland juno-6, korg er-1,
alesis sr-16, yamaha tx802, korg dw/ex-8000, korg ms2000

User avatar
Yekuku
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 603
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 11:29 am
Gear: dk'tronics speech synthesizer :P
Location: Greece

Re: dead alesis ion main output pre-amp FIXED!!

Post by Yekuku » Wed Mar 03, 2010 9:42 pm

Hey I am glad to hear this... :)
Now I can stop feeling guilty about talking you into changing the FETs :?
Good luck with your mods, post pics when its done ;)
It is all about sharing...

man-009
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 398
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 11:54 pm
Band: Man-009

Re: dead alesis ion main output pre-amp FIXED!!

Post by man-009 » Sat Mar 06, 2010 5:19 pm

cool. sounds good. send a pic of the new paint job!!!!! thinking about doing that with my Micron i picked up for only $150.. but green and black!!!

User avatar
crystalmsc
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2860
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 7:15 am
Gear: uWaveXT,uQ,Pulse+;Ion;MiniBrt
Karma,Mntrb,Volcas,01R;Venom
NordModular,L2X;Evolver;JP8080
MKS70,JD990,D50,MC909,MC80ex
Microcon2;TG77,RS7k,AN200,AN1x
Band: Crystaline
Location: Synth Garden
Contact:

Re: dead alesis ion main output pre-amp FIXED!!

Post by crystalmsc » Wed May 12, 2010 10:21 am

It's been a while, any update about the painting job?
Kaossilatron - Voicillator
http://crystaline.bandcamp.com
Station: Ableton Live 10 Suite, Obscurium, Push 2, Ultranova, MS-20m, Wavedrums

melee
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 7:40 pm

Re: dead alesis ion main output pre-amp FIXED!!

Post by melee » Tue Apr 26, 2011 9:26 pm

Rekindling an old post here - I have low volume issues on mine, going to start with the FETS. I haven't soldered before but am fearless and ready to learn (I have to disassemble the synth anyway). I heard it is tough because of the small space, is that true? Any tips to make this painless?

bassdude
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 5:15 pm

Re: dead alesis ion main output pre-amp FIXED!!

Post by bassdude » Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:12 pm

I have the same questions as the guy above me, as well as another:

I've heard that even after replacing the FETs, they can go bad again. Is replacing the FETs a permanent fix, or is this a chronic flaw with the ION? Are they destined to keep going bad?

Post Reply