Page 1 of 1

Yamaha dx7 i can't load sysex

Posted: Sat Mar 13, 2010 1:06 am
by midi2
i just got on my hands a dx7 but i can't load sysex banks via midi ,has anyone any idea to help??

Re: Yamaha dx7 i can't load sysex

Posted: Sat Mar 13, 2010 1:18 am
by Maschinengeist

Re: Yamaha dx7 i can't load sysex

Posted: Sat Mar 13, 2010 1:42 am
by midi2
yes i have it.I just tried to load sysex but nothing happened.I should read it carefully and if nothing happens again i ll come back here

Re: Yamaha dx7 i can't load sysex

Posted: Sat Mar 13, 2010 4:48 am
by Big Gnome
You need to tell it to respond to sysex first. If memory serves, it's function 8; it's not labelled.

Re: Yamaha dx7 i can't load sysex

Posted: Sat Mar 13, 2010 5:26 pm
by midi2
i made it finally :D

Re: Yamaha dx7 i can't load sysex

Posted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 10:20 pm
by EmptySet
You didn't mention which kind of DX7 you have, but watch out. Not all sysex DX7 files floating around on the web are compatible with all DX7 synths. For example, I have a DX7s and I tried loading sysex files that I found on the yahoo group. If I loaded the wrong files, it made it look like my DX7s was BROKEN! It started acting really really weird. It must scramble the brains somehow by loading bad or inappropriate sysex codes. Anyway, just something to watch out for.

Re: Yamaha dx7 i can't load sysex

Posted: Mon Aug 16, 2010 11:01 am
by regmor
Hello all i'm new to this forum. I just recently purchased a dx7. I have been looking for a manual and noticed the manual at the site http://www.maths.abdn.ac.uk/~bensondj/d ... x7-man.pdf
http://www.maths.abdn.ac.uk/~bensondj/d ... x7-man.pdf
is missing the text on page 5. does any have a completed printed text of page 5. kind of a drag when the text jumps from page 4 to page 6.

help out with just that one page.
thanks