Chroma Polaris Ribbon?

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
User avatar
analoglsd
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 580
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:53 am
Real name: Lance
Gear: Buchla Music Easel, TE OP-1, Korg MS-20, Yamaha RS-7000, Effects Pedals
Location: Oakland, CA
Contact:

Chroma Polaris Ribbon?

Post by analoglsd » Sat Apr 10, 2010 12:28 am

I've got a Chroma Polaris with the dreaded ribbon issue so only half the buttons work.
Are there any resources for getting new ribbon connectors or instructions on repairing damaged ones?
Thanks.

schmidtc
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 591
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 8:27 pm
Location: Virginia / Paris

Re: Chroma Polaris Ribbon?

Post by schmidtc » Sat Apr 10, 2010 1:44 am

It's probably the a break at the bend of the top ribbon of these 2. . .
Image

You can carefully pull it out and trim it by about 1/2 and inch and re-insert. Fold it back so it looks like this. . .
Image

This has worked for me in 3 polari, lot's of people say they're too brittle though.

User avatar
analoglsd
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 580
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:53 am
Real name: Lance
Gear: Buchla Music Easel, TE OP-1, Korg MS-20, Yamaha RS-7000, Effects Pedals
Location: Oakland, CA
Contact:

Re: Chroma Polaris Ribbon?

Post by analoglsd » Sat Apr 10, 2010 2:04 am

Thanks, I'll try it out.

Post Reply