Akai s2000 Hard disc

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
User avatar
salwa
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 327
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 7:12 pm
Location: Gdynia, Poland

Akai s2000 Hard disc

Post by salwa » Sat Oct 02, 2010 9:37 pm

I'm using my s2000 hooked to zip drive, but I heard nightmare stories about dying zip discs, so I've decided to use HDD. But, and here is the problem, I cannot format it . I've bought two discs: Seagate ST1581N and ST31230N, but sampler don't see them - when I try to format them, I've always end up with "FORMAT ERROR" text (which is by the way not mentioned in manual). I've tried different SCSI ID's but its always the same. I'm using some noname case to house HDD, but it works perfectly with CD-rom, so I don't think there is a problem with that. I've also tried different jumper settings on both discs but without result. Anyone can help me with that?
Casio CZ-1, Elektronika EM-25, Yamaha TX81Z, Roland JV-2080, Novation KS-rack, Korg Poly 800, Casio SK-1, Casio SK-8, Vermona E-piano, Akai S2000, Roland SP 404, Roland TR 505, Yamaha MR 10, Yamaha RX 5 and more
https://www.facebook.com/DOMmusicpl

User avatar
AndyCrystal
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 4:10 pm
Gear: Roland D110 w/ Rom Cards
Akai S2000
Roland S330

..and a rack full of non-synths

Re: Akai s2000 Hard disc

Post by AndyCrystal » Thu Oct 07, 2010 8:02 pm

what's your HDs capacity? Remember S2000 can work only with 500mb < Hds it won't see the rest and sometimes crushes!

User avatar
salwa
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 327
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 7:12 pm
Location: Gdynia, Poland

Re: Akai s2000 Hard disc

Post by salwa » Fri Oct 08, 2010 11:07 am

ST1581N has 525 MB and ST31230N has 1.06 GB. I can't find smaller.
Casio CZ-1, Elektronika EM-25, Yamaha TX81Z, Roland JV-2080, Novation KS-rack, Korg Poly 800, Casio SK-1, Casio SK-8, Vermona E-piano, Akai S2000, Roland SP 404, Roland TR 505, Yamaha MR 10, Yamaha RX 5 and more
https://www.facebook.com/DOMmusicpl

User avatar
salwa
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 327
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 7:12 pm
Location: Gdynia, Poland

Re: Akai s2000 Hard disc

Post by salwa » Thu Oct 14, 2010 6:59 pm

It seems like I have the same problem as this guy:
http://www.gearslutz.com/board/moan-zon ... oblem.html
I can format disc and use it with sampler as long as both of them are connected to my PC. Strange thing is, I can't boot sampler from this HD - I've saved system on first partition but it doesn't work (it works with ZIP drive). I'm little confused.
Casio CZ-1, Elektronika EM-25, Yamaha TX81Z, Roland JV-2080, Novation KS-rack, Korg Poly 800, Casio SK-1, Casio SK-8, Vermona E-piano, Akai S2000, Roland SP 404, Roland TR 505, Yamaha MR 10, Yamaha RX 5 and more
https://www.facebook.com/DOMmusicpl

Post Reply