DX100 reboots after receiving MIDI messages

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
visavis
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 2:41 pm

DX100 reboots after receiving MIDI messages

Post by visavis » Mon Nov 01, 2010 2:45 pm

Problem IN SHORT:
Yamaha DX100 works okay when standalone, but reboots after a couple of minutes spent receiving MIDI messages at MIDI IN.

Problem IN DETAIL:
My DX100 works fine when played on it's own keyboard. But when I control it from other keyboard or from sequencer, it acts strange.
After a couple of minutes receiving messages at MIDI IN display clears (pressing buttons makes some or all of information visible), after some more time either sound stops (although you can play some notes on DX and change patches) or synthesizer reboots. Sometime it receives MIDI for several minutes before these effects, sometimes it reboots just seconds after information started to flow. Usually the gap is not enough to record a song. I changed MIDI receive channel, but it did not help. As MIDI OUT device controlling other synth it works well without problems.

User avatar
cornutt
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2117
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:03 am
Gear: 6th
Location: Rocket City USA
Contact:

Re: DX100 reboots after receiving MIDI messages

Post by cornutt » Wed Nov 03, 2010 3:59 am

How much data is being sent to it? If the sending device is sending it MIDI clock or active sensing, that could be the cause of the problem.
Switches, knobs, buttons, LEDs, LCD screens, monitors, keys, mice, jacks, sockets. Now two joysticks!

wildpaws
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 2:46 am
Real name: Clyde
Gear: DX7IIFD, SY77, SY99, Hammond C3, Steinway L, CP300, etc.

Re: DX100 reboots after receiving MIDI messages

Post by wildpaws » Wed Nov 03, 2010 1:10 pm

As well, synths from the DX100 era have trouble handling midi data that is sent too fast, the midi buffer fills up and it cannot properly receive more midi data. This is especially true of midi data sent from a computer like sysex files, you have to remember that computer CPUs operated at mHz back in the day where today's computers operate at gHz.
Clyde
DX7IIFD, SY77, SY99, Hammond C3, Steinway L, CP300, AW1600, etc.

User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 5318
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Wurlitzer Opus 1536, Model F, Morovdis Arpeggiator, Maplin My First EQ, Jeff Wayne Thunderchild rack, Thermostat, Buck Owens' Moog.
Location: Cork, Ireland
Contact:

Re: DX100 reboots after receiving MIDI messages

Post by madtheory » Wed Nov 03, 2010 2:21 pm

This is happening just sending MIDI notes in? cornutt is right, you need to see exactly what is being sent to it. Also make sure that it's not a MIDI loop. Simplest thing is to disconnect MIDI out from the DX100.

visavis
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 2:41 pm

Re: DX100 reboots after receiving MIDI messages

Post by visavis » Wed Nov 03, 2010 3:44 pm

MIDI cable connected only to MIDI IN of DX. Straight from MIDI OUT of sequencer.
I use Zoom MRS-8 for sequencing bass. After reading comments I disabled drum channel, Timing Clock, SPP, Start/Stop/Continue commands and MTC was off by default. However, behaviour continued and stopped only when I set bass MIDI channel to off.
Other gear I use is microKorg's arpeggiator. So it is also from 2000's.

I tried to sequence it from TR-707 (which is from exactly the same era as DX-100), but as it is quite tricky, I haven't yet figured out to hear any note produced in such way. However, if DX is on and TR-707 is off, turning 707 on makes DX print MIDI DATA ERROR! and clear the screen (you still can play it on keyboard). If 707 is on already when DX is switched on, DX's display clears (but still working if patches changed) when SHIFT plus MIDI CHannel button pressed several times.

Post Reply