Vibrating Pro One

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
User avatar
Sorcerio
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat May 28, 2005 6:28 pm
Location: somewhere in the midwest

Vibrating Pro One

Post by Sorcerio » Fri Dec 10, 2010 9:19 pm

I have a Sequential Circuits Pro One. When it's powered on I feel a very light constant vibration. Is this normal?

I know it sounds funny, but it's true.

User avatar
ninja6485
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2766
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:13 pm
Gear: Virus Ti, Jx-8p, Juno 60, Radias, Maschine, 101,303,606,707,727,808,909, odyssey, mirage, akai s5K/s2K/s1k, drumtraks, E6400ult, M1R, rx5, fizmo,d50
Band: Lyra, The Sun Worshipers
Location: Exton/ westchester

Re: Vibrating Pro One

Post by ninja6485 » Fri Dec 10, 2010 9:43 pm

of coarse - everyone vibrates when they play an awesome monosynth. it's one of the seldom discussed medical mysteries of the modern age. 8-)
This looks like a psychotropic reaction. No wonder it's so popular...

User avatar
Solderman
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 1799
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 5:43 pm

Re: Vibrating Pro One

Post by Solderman » Fri Dec 10, 2010 10:02 pm

All jokes of the bass capability of the Pro~One aside, where exactly on the synth are you feeling the vibration? They do not get hot enough to need a fan or heat sink, even for some kind of modification, so I don't know why this would occur.
I am no longer in pursuit of vintage synths. The generally absurd inflation from demand versus practical use and maintenance costs is no longer viable. The internet has suffocated and vanquished yet another wonderful hobby. Too bad.
--Solderman no more.

User avatar
prinsen
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 182
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 10:44 pm
Gear: Blokey, MS10, Matrix-6, Kult, TR-808, Tokai Jazzbass, DIY modular + fx, amps and mics.
Location: CPH

Re: Vibrating Pro One

Post by prinsen » Fri Dec 10, 2010 10:30 pm

Sounds like a grounding issue. Are you using the proper mains plug?

User avatar
Sorcerio
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat May 28, 2005 6:28 pm
Location: somewhere in the midwest

Re: Vibrating Pro One

Post by Sorcerio » Sat Dec 11, 2010 1:18 am

It is plugged in to the same as the rest of all my other (non-vibrating) gear. The ground pin on the power cord is fully intact.

It's just an all over vibration. I haven't felt for a source, but I will when I get back to it. There are no modifications as far as I can tell. I think she is stock.

User avatar
Alex E
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2235
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 12:07 am
Gear: Jupiter-6, DX7, TX7, Juno-106, AX60, Pro One, S1000, M1r, Live 9, iMac MC309XX/A
Location: Anaheim, CA

Re: Vibrating Pro One

Post by Alex E » Sat Dec 11, 2010 1:24 am

Vibrating Pro-One... That's hot. :happy3:
soundcloud.com/vectron


cave
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 3:56 am
Gear: Kawai K3, Sequential Circuits Pro One, Roland SH-101, Roland Juno 106, Roland Juno 60, Korg Polysix, Kawai K5000, Roland JV-880, Oxford OSCar
Location: North Carolina, US

Re: Vibrating Pro One

Post by cave » Sat Dec 11, 2010 3:26 am

What's your serial number?
Sounds like the transformer.
I've never had one inside a machine do that, but I used to have a number of line warts around that era that would both get hot and vibrate to the point where you could hear them.
Sorcerio wrote:I have a Sequential Circuits Pro One. When it's powered on I feel a very light constant vibration. Is this normal?

I know it sounds funny, but it's true.

Elandroth
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 11:35 am
Gear: Nord Lead 2X, DSI MEK PE, Roland D-50/Juno-60/TR-707, Ensoniq ESQ-1, Casio CZ-5000, Elektron MD UW+
Location: Buffalo, NY

Re: Vibrating Pro One

Post by Elandroth » Sat Dec 11, 2010 3:32 am

Sounds like you got one of the rare ones with the extra hidden LFO.

User avatar
space6oy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5401
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 5:29 am
Gear: vimpat, citalopram & vitamin D.
Location: stuck in ohio.
Contact:

Re: Vibrating Pro One

Post by space6oy » Sat Dec 11, 2010 4:22 am

belongs in the help section.

User avatar
rhino
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 2610
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 5:00 pm
Real name: bill
Gear: keepers:
Kurzweil K2500x
Ensoniq TS-12
Yamaha SY-99
Alesis QS-8
Roland JD-800
Roland JX-10
Akai AX-80
Ensoniq SQ-80
Korg DSS-1
Moog Mini
Fizmo
Location: kentucky hills

Re: Vibrating Pro One

Post by rhino » Sat Dec 11, 2010 5:21 am

Check:
1. bad power xformer (maybe only loose on the chassis)
2. Shorted rectifier diode
3. Leaky filter cap or other abnormal loading of PS.
4. Giant angry bug trapped inside.
When the wise man points to the stars, the fool looks at the finger.
- Confucius

User avatar
tekkentool
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3218
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 10:51 am
Real name: Steve
Gear: Lasers (ส้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้ ωส้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้)
Band: none currently
Location: Sydney, australia.(I moved)

Re: Vibrating Pro One

Post by tekkentool » Sat Dec 11, 2010 5:23 am

rhino wrote:Check:
4. Giant angry bug trapped inside.
:lol: That would be the first thing i'd check. ;)

User avatar
garranimal
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1728
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 8:57 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Vibrating Pro One

Post by garranimal » Sat Dec 11, 2010 6:44 am

Sometimes a little bit of transformer buzz is normal. Definitely check into Rhino's recommendations and make sure something is not amiss. Does anyone else w/ a pro one have a similar experience?

User avatar
Computer Controlled
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 10:12 am
Gear: SH-101 . TB-3 . TR-8 . Juno-1 w/PG-300 . TT-303 . Korg ES2 . Beatstep Pro . Pioneer RMX-500
Band: Computer Controlled
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: Vibrating Pro One

Post by Computer Controlled » Sat Dec 11, 2010 9:00 am

Yeah, sounds like a transformer thing.
Synths:
Avalon Bassline . TB-03 . JU-06 . MX-1 . Blofeld . MicroMonsta . Akai S5000
Drum Machines:
TR-09 . TR-8

User avatar
Altitude
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1220
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 7:25 pm
Location: Michigan

Re: Vibrating Pro One

Post by Altitude » Sat Dec 11, 2010 12:49 pm

+1 for the transformer. When those age, you get an increase in magnetic flux leakage which will actually cause the metal chassis to vibrate. The way i fixed it in my Tx81z was to clip a thin piece of cold rolled steel over the coil of the trafo

User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 5192
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Flangebeast Mk1, Plonkotron, Morovdis Arpeggiator, Maplin My First EQ, Jeff Wayne Thunderchild rack, Thermostat, Buck Owens' Moog.
Band: Minim
Location: Cork, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Vibrating Pro One

Post by madtheory » Sat Dec 11, 2010 1:35 pm

I've fixed a few vibrating transformers by squeezing the metal casing with a bench vice.

Post Reply