Roland D-50 help.....

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
pianogrl697
Gear: Currently piano but wanting to learn more about Synthesizers!

Roland D-50 help.....

Post by pianogrl697 » Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:52 pm

Hey everyone!

I am new here! Just got a Roland D-50 the other night and already having a ball with it! I am very new to synthesizers, too - I play piano and have used basic keyboards, etc. but synthesizers are a little more advanced from what I'm seeing - which is fine because I am willing to learn. I figured this would be a great "starter" synth for me - eventually I would like to invest in a Yamaha Motif 8X or Korg M3. but not yet.

I found a manual online for the Roland but it's "advanced" - I am curious to know if there is a "less technical" manual out there?

Also, I somewhat understand how to use the sound banks and edit the sounds (e.g transpose, chase and portamento buttons give the sounds different "effects" and changes the key signature/pitch) - the other night I was "tweaking" with a few sounds, changing the instruments, the balance, the L tone edit and U tone edit etc. and some of the adjustments sounded awesome - however, now I forget how I did it....it was under the L tone and U tone edit buttons and I played with the decrement and increment buttons, I've tried to adjust the sounds and I cannot seem to get it to work out like I did the other night. I don't remember the "steps" I did to achieve the different sound adjustments. Again, I am sure it's a lot more simpler than I think, but, still learning here, lol.

I would appreciate any help!

fh991586
Gear: Roland JX3P, D50, U220, MVS1, JP8080.
Korg Kaossilator, Monotrons, MicroKorg, M3R.
Yamaha Motif Rack.
Midines

Re: Roland D-50 help.....