mackie onyx 820i problems

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
User avatar
Umbe78
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 168
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:25 pm
Real name: Umberto
Gear: NE3 73, MD & MM SFX6, MEK, JP4 & JX3P, Yamaha FGX, Gibson SG, Live 8.2 Suite, Komplete 7, Launchpad, Touchable
Band: The Punker
Location: Affi (VR),Italy

mackie onyx 820i problems

Post by Umbe78 » Thu Dec 30, 2010 6:55 pm

Today I bought an Onyx 820i and as mixer it goes very well but as audio interface I can't hear nothing !!
the decibel meter works (pressing FW1-2) but no sound... I opened Audio Midi Setup and the onyx appears but it seems that I can't modify Monitor Setup....
Please someone Help me :cry:


I have MAcbook 10.5.8
just one of us

User avatar
krzeppa
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 597
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 2:27 pm
Real name: Kevin J
Band: Where the Embers Fall
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

Re: mackie onyx 820i problems

Post by krzeppa » Thu Dec 30, 2010 7:19 pm

May be a stupid suggestion on my part, but do you have the "assign to mixer" and "main mix" buttons on?
Another thing could be to make sure the correct driver is selected in your DAW.

User avatar
Umbe78
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 168
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:25 pm
Real name: Umberto
Gear: NE3 73, MD & MM SFX6, MEK, JP4 & JX3P, Yamaha FGX, Gibson SG, Live 8.2 Suite, Komplete 7, Launchpad, Touchable
Band: The Punker
Location: Affi (VR),Italy

Re: mackie onyx 820i problems

Post by Umbe78 » Thu Dec 30, 2010 8:26 pm

FW 1-2 and assign to mixer were pressed but I didn't turn the knob for Control Room :) Now I hear...

But I don't understand a thing, why the sound has to pass in Control Room ---to---> Main Mix?
just one of us

User avatar
krzeppa
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 597
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 2:27 pm
Real name: Kevin J
Band: Where the Embers Fall
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

Re: mackie onyx 820i problems

Post by krzeppa » Thu Dec 30, 2010 8:28 pm

Umbe78 wrote:But I don't understand a thing, why the sound has to pass in Control Room ---to---> Main Mix?
Not sure why....but I'm glad to hear you got it working.

User avatar
Umbe78
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 168
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:25 pm
Real name: Umberto
Gear: NE3 73, MD & MM SFX6, MEK, JP4 & JX3P, Yamaha FGX, Gibson SG, Live 8.2 Suite, Komplete 7, Launchpad, Touchable
Band: The Punker
Location: Affi (VR),Italy

Re: mackie onyx 820i problems

Post by Umbe78 » Thu Dec 30, 2010 8:41 pm

I'm not sure it's all ok ... :?
In Audio Devices setup , the level of inputs and outputs of Onyx are grey and inactive ... While the built in aggregated outputs are blue and I can modify the values ,,,,

Has anybody the onyx as audio interface?
just one of us

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: mackie onyx 820i problems

Post by Stab Frenzy » Fri Dec 31, 2010 7:46 am

Umbe78 wrote:I'm not sure it's all ok ... :?
In Audio Devices setup , the level of inputs and outputs of Onyx are grey and inactive ... While the built in aggregated outputs are blue and I can modify the values ,,,,

Has anybody the onyx as audio interface?
That just means the level can't be changed in software (with the volume up and down keys) but you don't need to do that anyway. It's the same with all proper interfaces.

User avatar
Umbe78
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 168
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:25 pm
Real name: Umberto
Gear: NE3 73, MD & MM SFX6, MEK, JP4 & JX3P, Yamaha FGX, Gibson SG, Live 8.2 Suite, Komplete 7, Launchpad, Touchable
Band: The Punker
Location: Affi (VR),Italy

Re: mackie onyx 820i problems

Post by Umbe78 » Mon Jan 03, 2011 5:18 pm

Sorry ... I never noticed that when I'm using Virus as audio interface...

Still I can't understand why the sound pass in Control Room :shock:
just one of us

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: mackie onyx 820i problems

Post by Stab Frenzy » Mon Jan 03, 2011 11:58 pm

Because your monitors are connected to the control room outputs?

User avatar
Umbe78
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 168
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:25 pm
Real name: Umberto
Gear: NE3 73, MD & MM SFX6, MEK, JP4 & JX3P, Yamaha FGX, Gibson SG, Live 8.2 Suite, Komplete 7, Launchpad, Touchable
Band: The Punker
Location: Affi (VR),Italy

Re: mackie onyx 820i problems

Post by Umbe78 » Tue Jan 04, 2011 12:10 am

No!
They are in Main out .... I'm not so stupid...
just one of us

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: mackie onyx 820i problems

Post by Stab Frenzy » Tue Jan 04, 2011 5:30 am

Ah, I think it's because the routing is configured so you can't send the main mix to itself and feed it back, check out page 23 of the manual.

It's best practice to have your monitors connected to the control room outs, that's what they're there for. The Main Out is normally used to go to a 2-track machine or to the FOH system at a show. Quite often the Main Outs aren't used at all in a studio.

Post Reply