Korg ESX1 Voltage?

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
User avatar
Powelly
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 4:10 am
Real name: Dom
Gear: Korg R3, Korg M1, Korg ESX1, Yamaha DX7
Location: In Silico

Korg ESX1 Voltage?

Post by Powelly » Mon Feb 14, 2011 12:23 am

can i just get someone to tell me what voltage it takes?
like DC12V or whatever.
just so i can get a USA- AUS power convertor.
Cheers

User avatar
prinsen
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 182
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 10:44 pm
Gear: Blokey, MS10, Matrix-6, Kult, TR-808, Tokai Jazzbass, DIY modular + fx, amps and mics.
Location: CPH

Re: Korg ESX1 Voltage?

Post by prinsen » Mon Feb 14, 2011 12:30 am

AC9V, not DC.

:hi:
Last edited by prinsen on Mon Feb 14, 2011 12:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
space6oy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5401
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 5:29 am
Gear: vimpat, citalopram & vitamin D.
Location: stuck in ohio.
Contact:

Re: Korg ESX1 Voltage?

Post by space6oy » Mon Feb 14, 2011 12:31 am


User avatar
prinsen
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 182
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 10:44 pm
Gear: Blokey, MS10, Matrix-6, Kult, TR-808, Tokai Jazzbass, DIY modular + fx, amps and mics.
Location: CPH

Re: Korg ESX1 Voltage?

Post by prinsen » Mon Feb 14, 2011 12:33 am

ESX manual says 9V

User avatar
space6oy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5401
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 5:29 am
Gear: vimpat, citalopram & vitamin D.
Location: stuck in ohio.
Contact:

Re: Korg ESX1 Voltage?

Post by space6oy » Mon Feb 14, 2011 12:38 am

huh, yeah just checked my power supply and it's 9v AC 3000mA. maybe it's changed w/ the newer SD version?

User avatar
prinsen
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 182
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 10:44 pm
Gear: Blokey, MS10, Matrix-6, Kult, TR-808, Tokai Jazzbass, DIY modular + fx, amps and mics.
Location: CPH

Re: Korg ESX1 Voltage?

Post by prinsen » Mon Feb 14, 2011 12:45 am

Yeah, had the same thought.

The ESX1SD addendum manual says DC12V. Guess they chose to move the rectification out of the box for the new version.

ESX1 - AC9V
ESX1SD - DC12V

User avatar
Powelly
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 4:10 am
Real name: Dom
Gear: Korg R3, Korg M1, Korg ESX1, Yamaha DX7
Location: In Silico

Re: Korg ESX1 Voltage?

Post by Powelly » Mon Feb 14, 2011 12:48 am

POWER CONSUMPTION
24W
Thats for the ESXSD
I think the korg page for the esx1 is gone
can anyone find iti think it was 15.6?

User avatar
prinsen
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 182
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 10:44 pm
Gear: Blokey, MS10, Matrix-6, Kult, TR-808, Tokai Jazzbass, DIY modular + fx, amps and mics.
Location: CPH

Re: Korg ESX1 Voltage?

Post by prinsen » Mon Feb 14, 2011 12:58 am

It's all there, just type ESX in the search box.

User avatar
Powelly
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 4:10 am
Real name: Dom
Gear: Korg R3, Korg M1, Korg ESX1, Yamaha DX7
Location: In Silico

Re: Korg ESX1 Voltage?

Post by Powelly » Mon Feb 14, 2011 1:16 am

prinsen wrote:It's all there, just type ESX in the search box.
Yeah, but that only shows the ESXSD
not the ESX1

User avatar
Powelly
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 4:10 am
Real name: Dom
Gear: Korg R3, Korg M1, Korg ESX1, Yamaha DX7
Location: In Silico

Re: Korg ESX1 Voltage?

Post by Powelly » Mon Feb 14, 2011 1:23 am

ah, found it.
http://www.korg.co.uk/products/dance_dj ... cation.asp
Power consumption: 24W
AC9V

cartesia
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 7:55 am
Gear: Octatrack
Bass Station 2
Band: TBA

Re: Korg ESX1 Voltage?

Post by cartesia » Mon Feb 14, 2011 5:06 am


User avatar
Powelly
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 4:10 am
Real name: Dom
Gear: Korg R3, Korg M1, Korg ESX1, Yamaha DX7
Location: In Silico

Re: Korg ESX1 Voltage?

Post by Powelly » Mon Feb 14, 2011 7:29 am

Just paid 100 bucks for a transformer anyway

cartesia
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 7:55 am
Gear: Octatrack
Bass Station 2
Band: TBA

Re: Korg ESX1 Voltage?

Post by cartesia » Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:22 am

Ahhh... I was gonna order that power supply myself, but jaycar was selling a suitable transformer for $49

User avatar
Powelly
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 4:10 am
Real name: Dom
Gear: Korg R3, Korg M1, Korg ESX1, Yamaha DX7
Location: In Silico

Re: Korg ESX1 Voltage?

Post by Powelly » Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:26 am

cartesia wrote:Ahhh... I was gonna order that power supply myself, but jaycar was selling a suitable transformer for $49
I see you were smarter than I, i spent an extra $50 at jaycar to get one that was suitable for three prong plugs.
My esx arrived, two prongs
I raged.

On a related note, can you use doble adapters with converters?

cartesia
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 7:55 am
Gear: Octatrack
Bass Station 2
Band: TBA

Re: Korg ESX1 Voltage?

Post by cartesia » Thu Feb 17, 2011 2:12 am

yeah, as long as the maximum power being drawn doesn't exceed the amount the transformer can provid
(usually measured by watts for transformers)

Post Reply