Ensoniq SQ-80 Sysex Help

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
User avatar
Hobbs360
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2008 6:17 pm
Gear: Roland SH 1000, Sequential Circuits Pro One, Yamaha YC-10, Mello-Sonic Organ, Hohner D6 Clavinet, Lowrey Organ, Allen Organ, Harvey Co baby grand
Location: New York

Ensoniq SQ-80 Sysex Help

Post by Hobbs360 » Mon Feb 28, 2011 5:04 am

Im using sysex librarian osx and can send and receive keyboard information, but im not successful sending .syx files from sysex to the sq80, do i need to clean old files out first? thanks

User avatar
devetron
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 6:43 am
Location: Minneapolis

Re: Ensoniq SQ-80 Sysex Help

Post by devetron » Mon Feb 28, 2011 6:41 am

Is write protection turned off?
synths

Ry-Fi
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 203
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 9:40 am
Gear: Ion, MKS-30, MKS-50, SQ-1+ 32-voice, TX81Z
Location: Regina, SK
Contact:

Re: Ensoniq SQ-80 Sysex Help

Post by Ry-Fi » Mon Feb 28, 2011 8:20 am

A lot of synths have a setting to allow or disallow reception of SysEx data, and I know for a fact that some Ensoniqs do, so this would be my guess.

User avatar
rhino
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 2611
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 5:00 pm
Real name: bill
Gear: keepers:
Kurzweil K2500x
Ensoniq TS-12
Yamaha SY-99
Alesis QS-8
Roland JD-800
Roland JX-10
Akai AX-80
Ensoniq SQ-80
Korg DSS-1
Moog Mini
Fizmo
Location: kentucky hills

Re: Ensoniq SQ-80 Sysex Help

Post by rhino » Mon Feb 28, 2011 4:22 pm

Ry-Fi wrote:A lot of synths have a setting to allow or disallow reception of SysEx data, and I know for a fact that some Ensoniqs do, so this would be my guess.
This.
Press MIDI
Set ENABLE to "ENABLE=KEYS+CT+PC+SS+SX" (use the data slider or up/down buttons)
When the wise man points to the stars, the fool looks at the finger.
- Confucius

User avatar
Hobbs360
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2008 6:17 pm
Gear: Roland SH 1000, Sequential Circuits Pro One, Yamaha YC-10, Mello-Sonic Organ, Hohner D6 Clavinet, Lowrey Organ, Allen Organ, Harvey Co baby grand
Location: New York

Re: Ensoniq SQ-80 Sysex Help

Post by Hobbs360 » Mon Feb 28, 2011 9:26 pm

Thanks for the replys, yes rhino i do have "ENABLE=KEYS+CT+PC+SS+SX" selected, i could be sending incorrect .syx files i got them from the link in the information of this youtube video
The only data ive sent successfully has been live midi playback from pro tools.

User avatar
rhino
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 2611
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 5:00 pm
Real name: bill
Gear: keepers:
Kurzweil K2500x
Ensoniq TS-12
Yamaha SY-99
Alesis QS-8
Roland JD-800
Roland JX-10
Akai AX-80
Ensoniq SQ-80
Korg DSS-1
Moog Mini
Fizmo
Location: kentucky hills

Re: Ensoniq SQ-80 Sysex Help

Post by rhino » Mon Feb 28, 2011 10:56 pm

Yeh, try different SYSEX files. I've had trouble with Roland and Kawai patch=files from the web being corrupted.
When the wise man points to the stars, the fool looks at the finger.
- Confucius

User avatar
loungedumore
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 638
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 10:25 am
Gear: iMac | iPad 2| iPad Air
Beatstep Pro | Mpx8
Volca bass, Keys ,beats
Monotribe | MS20 | SQ1
Minibrute | Midi4+
Graphite 49 | EIE
Band: Death By Media
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: Ensoniq SQ-80 Sysex Help

Post by loungedumore » Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:46 pm

I would re-download them again . I went and grabbed the SYX. files and they loaded up in the SQ8L under it's SYX import function ... So they are readable
If the SQ is set to receive and the files are not corrupted You might try slowing the speed of SYX LIB's playback to about 80% . My ESQ-1 dose not seam to like dumps any faster than that .

BTW Info I thought you could use .
The SQ8L Windows VST will run in SM Pro Audio's VFX application on OSX
I use it as an editor/Librarian for my ESQ-1 and it will work as an overflow unit adding 8 voices .
It's only limitations are bank C/D will not pass sound ? I assume this is something to do with the built in wine application in VFX and the plugin getting confused somewhere . It can send and receive as well as convert it's native patches to esq-1 and sq80 .syx format
If you are looking for lots of patches for your SQ80 http://www.kvraudio.com/banks.php?s=lis ... order=date You will need to have an account . The last/largest bank has I think like 30+ banks in both the plugin's native and .SYX format .
Some wish to leave their mark ... I want to leave a scar .
http://soundcloud.com/death-by-media

Post Reply