Novation xio as sound module?

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
User avatar
TheKeytarist
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 4:58 pm
Real name: Joseph
Location: Los Angeles CA

Novation xio as sound module?

Post by TheKeytarist » Tue Mar 29, 2011 2:17 am

I have a 25 and an axiom 49 and have long been wanting to expand my keyrange. The xio doesn't have a midi in, so it would appear that I was stuck. While I was sequencing my xio with live over USB, I had the idea that I could do the same with my axiom. Both the xio and the axiom have USB, so if I got a cabel to connect them, could I control the xio from the axiom's keyboard, right? I am posting this because I wan to make sure this will work before I buy the cabel. Can anyone help?
"A learned blockhead is a greater blockhead than an ignorant one."
— Benjamin Franklin

:keys1: :drums: :keys2:

User avatar
Zarith
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 9:19 pm
Band: Brek Zarith
Contact:

Re: Novation xio as sound module?

Post by Zarith » Tue Mar 29, 2011 11:50 am

No. It won't work.

You cannot connect them with USB. You will need a computer to make them work together.

User avatar
TheKeytarist
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 4:58 pm
Real name: Joseph
Location: Los Angeles CA

Re: Novation xio as sound module?

Post by TheKeytarist » Tue Mar 29, 2011 2:26 pm

Are you sure? The data ableton was sending was midi note data. This is the cable in question:

http://www.dcables.net/USB-B-to-B-Cable ... -Feet.aspx

Just want to make sure. I am still curious because the xio settings have an option for "Synth Local Control on/off"
"A learned blockhead is a greater blockhead than an ignorant one."
— Benjamin Franklin

:keys1: :drums: :keys2:

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: Novation xio as sound module?

Post by Stab Frenzy » Wed Mar 30, 2011 3:05 am

No, it won't work.

User avatar
TheKeytarist
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 4:58 pm
Real name: Joseph
Location: Los Angeles CA

Re: Novation xio as sound module?

Post by TheKeytarist » Fri Apr 01, 2011 4:51 pm

Ok then...
"A learned blockhead is a greater blockhead than an ignorant one."
— Benjamin Franklin

:keys1: :drums: :keys2:

Post Reply