PPG 2.2 owners -- arpeggiator help please!

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
User avatar
joshuag
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 8:47 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA

PPG 2.2 owners -- arpeggiator help please!

Post by joshuag » Mon Aug 08, 2011 7:53 pm

I recently picked up a Wave 2.2 and was sitting down last night to see if I could get the arpeggiator running.
Didnt have any luck and I'm not sure if it's me or the synth. The user guide isnt exactly user friendly. Here's what I did:

1. press Sequencer button
2. enter a code in the SEQ (14 for example - '1' for normal run and '4' for random chord divide)
3. play a chord
4. enter 1 in RUN

once I enter '1' in the RUN position, it seems the interface freezes, I cannot play any keys, no sound, or enter another number in the RUN position. I also cannot use the arrow keys to move cursor position. I have to re-boot the Wave to 'un-freeze' the interface.

Am I doing something wrong here?

thanks in advance for your thoughts.

Josh
joshua gabriel

User avatar
pj_80s
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 5:40 pm
Gear: If you are interested in my gear don't esitate to ask!!
I love 80's gears!!!
Band: Neiv
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: PPG 2.2 owners -- arpeggiator help please!

Post by pj_80s » Mon Aug 08, 2011 7:58 pm

Hi Josh, i have the same problem with my 2.2, i guess is the software rev or someting like that.,
which software rev do you have?

User avatar
calyx93
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 448
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 5:48 am
Gear: PPG Wave 2.2, Waldorf μWave x3, Roland JP6+V-Synth, SCI P5+600, Ensoniq SQ-80, Kawai K-3
Location: Winston-Salem, NC

Re: PPG 2.2 owners -- arpeggiator help please!

Post by calyx93 » Tue Aug 09, 2011 5:48 pm

What OS are you using? I highly suggest getting 8.3 from this guy:

http://virtual-music.at/webseiten_e/zubehoer/ppg.htm

BTW - you don't have to hold a chord down before pressing RUN.
“I have stretched ropes from steeple to steeple; garlands from window to window; golden chains from star to star, and I dance.” - Rimbaud

User avatar
waveterm
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 246
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 1:07 am
Gear: A lot more than you
Location: Arctic

Re: PPG 2.2 owners -- arpeggiator help please!

Post by waveterm » Tue Aug 09, 2011 10:55 pm

It is set to external sync.

Read the manual and set the syncswitches correctly.

WT
Just a guy with a bunch of blue things.......now, move on !

User avatar
waveterm
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 246
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 1:07 am
Gear: A lot more than you
Location: Arctic

Re: PPG 2.2 owners -- arpeggiator help please!

Post by waveterm » Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:05 am

Did it work out ?

WT
Just a guy with a bunch of blue things.......now, move on !

User avatar
joshuag
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 8:47 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: PPG 2.2 owners -- arpeggiator help please!

Post by joshuag » Tue Aug 16, 2011 12:25 am

WT thanks for the reply, I've been out of town and will finally be able to troubleshoot tonight. Will keep you posted how it goes.

--Josh
joshua gabriel

User avatar
waveterm
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 246
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 1:07 am
Gear: A lot more than you
Location: Arctic

Re: PPG 2.2 owners -- arpeggiator help please!

Post by waveterm » Tue Aug 16, 2011 12:28 am

Cool !

WT
Just a guy with a bunch of blue things.......now, move on !

User avatar
waveterm
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 246
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 1:07 am
Gear: A lot more than you
Location: Arctic

Re: PPG 2.2 owners -- arpeggiator help please!

Post by waveterm » Tue Aug 16, 2011 2:04 pm

Also, if you haven´t got anything important in the Sequencer memory, erase it.

Select sequence 00
Select record mode 8

Wave will momentarily respond with ???????????????????????????????

Select record mode 8 again.

Memory is now cleared.

This can solve some erratic behaviour.

WT
Just a guy with a bunch of blue things.......now, move on !

Post Reply