Page 1 of 1

Korg Monotron Aux Input Problem

Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2011 3:56 pm
by iamrcb
I've connected an mp3 player to my monotron. The aux input only works when I press the a "key" on the ribbon. I've seen videos of aux input working without having to press a the ribbon. Is there something wrong with my monotron?

Re: Korg Monotron Aux Input Problem

Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2011 5:54 pm
by FX23
good question, i think its only the monotribe where you need to press the keyboard. id love to check for you but my batteries have gone!

Re: Korg Monotron Aux Input Problem

Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2011 10:21 pm
by iamrcb
It turns out that the AUX jack was faulty. I tried to fix it but made it worse and the whole jack socket and solder pads came off!

Now my monotron doesn't have an AUX in. I'm either going to sell it as part working, as the synth is still ok and then get a replacement for £45, or try and wire in the jack to other parts of the circuit board and simply glue the jack socket back in place.

Re: Korg Monotron Aux Input Problem

Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2011 11:44 pm
by th0mas
iamrcb wrote:It turns out that the AUX jack was faulty. I tried to fix it but made it worse and the whole jack socket and solder pads came off!

Now my monotron doesn't have an AUX in. I'm either going to sell it as part working, as the synth is still ok and then get a replacement for £45, or try and wire in the jack to other parts of the circuit board and simply glue the jack socket back in place.

If you solder it back into place you need to not just solder the tip & ground, but also the other two connections that create a "switch" that enables the amp envelope when something is plugged into the aux plug.

Re: Korg Monotron Aux Input Problem

Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 2:41 pm
by iamrcb
I was going to glue the jack socket to the board, then wire up the original 4 connectors to a point along the same route as the original connection. Unfortunately as all the components are tiny there is little room to do so.

Re: Korg Monotron Aux Input Problem

Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 3:32 pm
by Hybrid88
Unfortunately the fact the pads have come off is not good, part of the reason soldering as quickly as possible and having a good quality reliable iron with a constant heat is so important.

Being SMD might make it next to impossible to fix without a small iron tip and lots of practice I would suggest IMO.

Re: Korg Monotron Aux Input Problem

Posted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 12:16 pm
by iamrcb
I bought a replacement unit for £34. I'll sell the Faulty unit as the synth part still works ok.