dead microkorg

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
man-009
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 398
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 11:54 pm
Band: Man-009

Re: dead microkorg

Post by man-009 » Thu Apr 12, 2012 3:45 am

the end...good luck all with your dead synths.

User avatar
die monster die
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 7:26 pm
Real name: Pierre
Gear: MS10, Monopoly, Synare S3X, Microkorg, DDD1, Prodigy, UpOne, MFB502, Mopho.
Location: France

Re: dead microkorg

Post by die monster die » Sun Apr 15, 2012 7:59 pm

I'm having the exact same issue with a MS2000. Very similar to microkorg's power supply.
Voltage regulator S8520F33 and fuse CCP2E20 are dead.
It might depend on the country but you can order them from Korg.
Prices i had here (France) were:
S-8520F33MC = 5,85 €
CCP2E20 = 1,5 €

The regulator feeds the CPU, it might be allright, but i afraid the CPU is dead too.
MS10, Monopoly, Synare S3X, Microkorg, DDD1, Prodigy, UpOne, MFB502, Mopho.

man-009
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 398
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 11:54 pm
Band: Man-009

Re: dead microkorg

Post by man-009 » Mon Apr 16, 2012 3:58 pm

good luck!.. i have a new prob. There are two diodes that could have blown out in my AC adpter path. Mine only works with batteries. I wonder if you can hardwire the adapter wires to the battery leads for power? It's all 9v right?

man-009
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 398
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 11:54 pm
Band: Man-009

Re: dead microkorg

Post by man-009 » Wed Apr 18, 2012 3:07 am

not going to risk the bypass..

User avatar
die monster die
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 7:26 pm
Real name: Pierre
Gear: MS10, Monopoly, Synare S3X, Microkorg, DDD1, Prodigy, UpOne, MFB502, Mopho.
Location: France

Re: dead microkorg

Post by die monster die » Mon Apr 30, 2012 11:15 pm

Power section is now in working condition.
The LCD screen says "Chck Sum Error". I have no idea what this means.
No mention in the owner or service manual. I believe something else fried.

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: dead microkorg

Post by Stab Frenzy » Tue May 01, 2012 3:42 am

Google checksum to see what it means, it'll be easier than me explaining it here. Basically checksum error means that the OS has become corrupted and the synth realises it and so is not attempting to run it. Not sure what course of action to take to fix it, but it's quite likely that the synth is now only good for parts.

rcon303
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2017 1:06 am

Re: dead microkorg

Post by rcon303 » Mon Feb 20, 2017 1:17 am

hi and i thank everrone in this thread for the info on fixing my dead microkorg.. i bought the needed parts off ebay from china, and i had to buy 5 of each part..l . needless to say after grtting it fixed i have 4 each of the 2 parts needed. if anyone in vermont,new hampshire, massachusetts,usa ,etc needs these parts i can meet you and more kess give em to ya for a cup of coffee or a beer ..
the 2. parts are the S-8520F33MC-BNST2G regulator and the 3 volt ic XC61CN3002MR(the 3pin one).i do not use paypal otherwise id offer these to any non local fellow korgies that need them ...
:guitar: :guitar: :dancer: :dancer:

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: dead microkorg

Post by Stab Frenzy » Wed May 17, 2017 4:41 am

Just a note here in case anyone comes across this because they can't find the now obsolete S-8520F33MC voltage regulator, I found an equivalent part with the same footprint. It's the Ricoh R1223N332H-TR-FE just replaced one in a Microkorg here and it's now successfully delivering 3.3V on the digital line.

craigsc
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2017 7:35 pm

Re: dead microkorg

Post by craigsc » Sat Sep 30, 2017 7:41 pm

Looking for a little help from one of the folks who recently fixed there micro kong. My Son's micro korg does not power up at all. He had let a buddy borrow and I'm guessing he using the wrong power supply. Can someone walk me through the repair in a little more detail than is here in this string? I'm have a DMM and a good soldering iron (and a micro miniature repair specialist at work as well) and I do restore and sell vintage HiFi equipment so I think I could handle just can't figure out what folks are doing exactly. Thanks!

Asp102
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 10:11 pm

Re: dead microkorg

Post by Asp102 » Thu Jan 04, 2018 10:20 pm

I appreciate this is a long shot, asking 5 years after it’s been posted... but I’m hoping adhmzaiusz might be able to answer a question for me :)

I’ve got a friend’s microkorg board infrobt of me and looks like the EMI filter has gone (continuity on all legs)
You mentioned about bridging this - just curious as to which tracks you bridged. I guess I could trial and error it but some help would be amazing! :)

Thanks so much for all the posts everyone - really helpful :)

*edit*
Don’t worry! I took out the broken EMI filter, tried bridging it the way I assumed it would go and success! A working microkorg!! :D thanks adhmzaiusz - wherever you may be. 5 years on and you’re still shooting troubles! :)

mrbungledisco
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2018 6:47 am
Gear: Yamaha DX27S
E-MU Proteus MPS Plus Orchestral

Re: dead microkorg

Post by mrbungledisco » Mon Nov 19, 2018 9:25 am

Asp102 wrote:I appreciate this is a long shot, asking 5 years after it’s been posted... but I’m hoping adhmzaiusz might be able to answer a question for me :)

I’ve got a friend’s microkorg board infrobt of me and looks like the EMI filter has gone (continuity on all legs)
You mentioned about bridging this - just curious as to which tracks you bridged. I guess I could trial and error it but some help would be amazing! :)

Thanks so much for all the posts everyone - really helpful :)

*edit*
Don’t worry! I took out the broken EMI filter, tried bridging it the way I assumed it would go and success! A working microkorg!! :D thanks adhmzaiusz - wherever you may be. 5 years on and you’re still shooting troubles! :)
I had the same issue, and the fix was easy. I found a common mode choke made by TDK that I replaced the M522C component with and it works perfectly. Thanks adhmzaiusz!

Post Reply