Have I broken my mint Juno 60??

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
User avatar
nathanscribe
VSE Review Contributor
VSE Review Contributor
Posts: 2889
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 1:03 pm
Location: The right side of the Pennines
Contact:

Re: Have I broken my mint Juno 60??

Post by nathanscribe » Mon Mar 05, 2012 7:49 pm

I'll have a look at the service notes and see what I can see. Someone might need to take a look inside and sort out a part or two - I wouldn't have thought it would be anything serious. In the meantime, if it's not a problem, don't worry too much about it.

Scottf
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 2:49 am

Re: Have I broken my mint Juno 60??

Post by Scottf » Mon Mar 05, 2012 8:49 pm

Thanks Nathan, appreciated!!

won't worry too much but like said cosmetically and everything else appeared completely mint on day of arrival.

User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 5155
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Flangebeast Mk1, Plonkotron, Morovdis Arpeggiator, Maplin My First EQ, Jeff Wayne Thunderchild rack, Thermostat, Buck Owens' Moog.
Band: Minim
Location: Cork, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Have I broken my mint Juno 60??

Post by madtheory » Mon Mar 05, 2012 10:08 pm

Yes it's probably a dead cap, as nathanscribe is thinking it's probably one in the triggering path. A visual inspection would probably reveal it.

As for the overload- you connected a line output to a line (or mic) input. The power is never going to be enough to do any damage because the input is pretty much expecting that kind of power. All that happens is that the Juno won't understand the 1s and 0s because they're all 1s when clipped.

Scottf
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 2:49 am

Re: Have I broken my mint Juno 60??

Post by Scottf » Mon Mar 05, 2012 10:39 pm

Thanks MT- I think we're making progress, as
Been discussed prob. Not a whole deal to
Worry about for now but if its easily
Diagnosed and fixable, I'll be happy to
Get someone to have a look at it

Thanks for now guys, I'll leave this one
Open another while for anymore input
Cheers

User avatar
Jabberwalky
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2143
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:03 pm
Gear: A hybrid of vintage and modern junk
Band: Variar
Location: Pgh, PA
Contact:

Re: Have I broken my mint Juno 60??

Post by Jabberwalky » Tue Mar 06, 2012 11:59 pm

I'd test your power source or strip. My Mg1 will get spikes to the VCA and trigger notes in certain instances.

Scottf
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 2:49 am

Re: Have I broken my mint Juno 60??

Post by Scottf » Wed Mar 07, 2012 2:48 am

I'm using a step down transformer-the synth is rated 100volts(smae one I use with my 106) stright into the wall..

User avatar
nathanscribe
VSE Review Contributor
VSE Review Contributor
Posts: 2889
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 1:03 pm
Location: The right side of the Pennines
Contact:

Re: Have I broken my mint Juno 60??

Post by nathanscribe » Wed Mar 07, 2012 12:05 pm

What step-down are you using? I've had some that caused problems.

interstellartaiga
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 2:04 pm

Re: Have I broken my mint Juno 60??

Post by interstellartaiga » Wed Mar 07, 2012 5:36 pm

I can't help with this, but you might find it interesting that my DX7 does a similar thing on startup, but only when I press a key immediately after powering it on. It's a pulsewave-ish sound similar to yours. I never considered it an anomaly and never worried about it.

User avatar
HH
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2004 12:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Have I broken my mint Juno 60??

Post by HH » Sat Mar 10, 2012 9:42 am

Hi,

my 60 does the same on powering on and i never actually had an in-depth thought on whether its an issue or not.
After that powering, when you switch between patch programs everything is fine, right? I wouldn't worry about it much

Scottf
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 2:49 am

Re: Have I broken my mint Juno 60??

Post by Scottf » Tue Mar 13, 2012 9:03 pm

Thanks everyone, essential help...

now week later not worrying to much about it.. asked a local tech guy here said prob have to test everything and not worth it, right now-might look myself see if I notice anything but won't be rushing to open it up, realistically, so
I'll get over it for now..

thanks

Post Reply