Page 1 of 2

Roland MC-500 Seq. woes and general confusion

Posted: Thu May 03, 2012 10:01 pm
by MasterCProgram
Hello!

Had ordered an MC-500 from ebay that, once I'd received it, had realized that the seller didn't test it at all, even though the title was "WORKS GREAT". First of all, it didn't come with an OS disk, and didn't mention it, so that was indicator number one. After contacting the seller to inform them that I couldn't test it myself until I bought or made an OS disk (which I can't do, as I don't own a floppy drive), they admitted that they were 'selling it for someone else who said they'd tested it'. A week rolls by, and I have new disks, one a Roland MC 300/500 OS disk, and another the Super MRP disc that's supposed to upgrade the firmware. The MC-500 didn't recognize either as system disks.

Now, I'm wondering how I'd go about finding out which part is faulty, the disks or the sequencer, and how to upgrade the MC, if in fact that's what it needs, or if there's an OS reset button combination whereby I can restore everything to factory settings, in the case that'd help.

Also, if anyone knows of links to the manual(s) (I've been looking for a while now) that would also be fantastic.

First time I've been screwed by an ebay seller, glad it wasn't for something more expensive.

Re: Roland MC-500 Seq. woes and general confusion

Posted: Thu May 03, 2012 10:34 pm
by loungedumore
Could be either really . The disks are easy to corrupt and the drives are not know ( IMHO ) as being long lasting ...I replaced two on mine from 1994 to 99/00 maybe , and had a few disks go corrupt too .

Re: Roland MC-500 Seq. woes and general confusion

Posted: Thu May 03, 2012 11:02 pm
by MasterCProgram
If it helps, the discs I ordered looked to be newly 'burned', and I want to trust the seller of those when they say "Your Disk has been tested/verified as OK"...

Is there a sort of soft reset, or a factory reset combination? I don't know why it'd have one as the OS is on the diskette...

Would it recognize the Super MRP disk as a system disk straight away, or is the process of upgrading to MK-II done with some button combination?

In the worst case scenario, how would I go about replacing the disk drive? If its anything like a PC it should be easy enough, just a matter of finding out if I need a 'right one'.

Re: Roland MC-500 Seq. woes and general confusion

Posted: Fri May 04, 2012 1:20 am
by modulator_esp
software for mc-500 is available to download from roland

http://www.rolandus.com/support/downloa ... l_apps.php

also, note mc-500 only works with DD disks

other mc-500 stuff here

http://members.optushome.com.au/uws/MC5002SMF.html

Re: Roland MC-500 Seq. woes and general confusion

Posted: Fri May 04, 2012 2:37 am
by synthparts
If I were you I'd get a full refund from that seller. Maybe warn others who it is too.

Re: Roland MC-500 Seq. woes and general confusion

Posted: Fri May 04, 2012 9:50 am
by nathanscribe
As far as I understand it, the MC-50 is basically the same thing but with the OS already in there, so you can boot without a disk. If you want that way of working, maybe look for one of those - they're very common and pretty cheap.

And buy yourself a USB floppy drive, they're so cheap it's a good idea to keep one around for such purposes I think.

Re: Roland MC-500 Seq. woes and general confusion

Posted: Fri May 04, 2012 10:31 am
by Arddhu
But the calculator buttons! Gives you the unique sensation of doing a tax return while programming some phat beats. :)

Re: Roland MC-500 Seq. woes and general confusion

Posted: Sat May 05, 2012 7:43 am
by MasterCProgram
Arddhu wrote:But the calculator buttons! Gives you the unique sensation of doing a tax return while programming some phat beats. :)
Exactly the draw to this one... Plus the MC-500 seems to be one of the best sequencers of its kind...

I'm sending it back to the seller tomorrow, hopefully.

Re: Roland MC-500 Seq. woes and general confusion

Posted: Sat May 05, 2012 7:56 am
by Arddhu
It's definitely a top sequencer. You definitely need the manual to get the most out of it though. Who would suspect it actually has really good TR style rhythm program section?

What message does it actually give you when you try to boot up the disks? It does seem most likely to be the disk drive as the machine itself is built like a brick sh**house.

Re: Roland MC-500 Seq. woes and general confusion

Posted: Sat May 05, 2012 8:37 am
by MasterCProgram
The message is: "Insert System Disk and Press ENTER."

Re: Roland MC-500 Seq. woes and general confusion

Posted: Sat May 05, 2012 10:45 am
by nathanscribe
There's a link to some info on system disks in this other thread.

I've had an MC-50mkII for ages and never used it beyond switching it on to make sure it wasn't dead... must have a go some time.

If it's old sequencers with nice keypads you like, you want one of these (5.25" floppies FTW!):

Image

Re: Roland MC-500 Seq. woes and general confusion

Posted: Sat May 05, 2012 2:19 pm
by Vxster
MasterCProgram wrote:The message is: "Insert System Disk and Press ENTER."
Does it even try and spin the disk? Any sound or light on the drive? As someone else mentioned, the actual machine is built really well. Mine sat in damp newspapers in a garage for a few years and when I took it out, dried it off and powered it on, it worked perfectly.

Re: Roland MC-500 Seq. woes and general confusion

Posted: Sat May 05, 2012 6:54 pm
by MasterCProgram
It does, it spins the disk, the light on the drive blinks a few times, then the metronome beeps and tells me to put a disk in.

Seeing as I don't have any way of actually getting another system disk without spending about 30-40 bucks to get all the stuff to make my own, nor will I know even then if it's the disk or the drive in the case that it doesn't work... I might as well send this one back and get another that's been tested AND includes the right floppy.

Honestly, I shouldn't have to spend more money trying to figure out if this thing even works correctly.

Re: Roland MC-500 Seq. woes and general confusion

Posted: Sat May 05, 2012 7:15 pm
by modulator_esp
you can make your own system disk, the files needed are linked in my last post

Re: Roland MC-500 Seq. woes and general confusion

Posted: Sat May 05, 2012 9:15 pm
by MasterCProgram
modulator_esp wrote:you can make your own system disk, the files needed are linked in my last post
;)

See my first post:
MasterCProgram wrote:or made an OS disk (which I can't do, as I don't own a floppy drive)
Or the one above this one:
MasterCProgram wrote:Seeing as I don't have any way of actually getting another system disk without spending about 30-40 bucks to get all the stuff to make my own
Either way, it's me spending far too much time and effort (and extra cash) on an eBay auction that, in all honesty, SHOULD just be returned and refunded. If this was my own machine I'd had for a long time, I would definitely put in the effort, but when I can't even test the thing to see if it works without breaking a sweat first, it's time to send it back.