polysix data transfer

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
sam
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1304
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 10:09 pm
Location: Europe

polysix data transfer

Post by sam » Thu Sep 13, 2012 12:03 pm

Has anyone transfered patches from one too another polysix ..,?
Roland Vp330 mk1.SH101.juno 6.OSCar.ARP odyssey..Tonus 2600..omni.
ms20/50. OBX.
Prophet 5
Wasp.EMS AKS.

rschnier
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 222
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 4:52 am
Location: USA

Re: polysix data transfer

Post by rschnier » Thu Sep 13, 2012 6:37 pm

Sure -- all you would need to do is save the patches onto a tape using the tape save function (a cassette recorder was what the polysix was originally designed for), then load the saved patches from the tape into the other polysix, again using the tape load function. (Note that this will overwrite the patches on the destination polysix so you'd want to save those first onto another tape, if you wanted to keep those also). The polysix user's manual also covers this of course, if you can locate a PDF on the internet someplace.
-- R.

sam
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1304
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 10:09 pm
Location: Europe

Re: polysix data transfer

Post by sam » Thu Sep 13, 2012 8:15 pm

rschnier wrote:Sure -- all you would need to do is save the patches onto a tape using the tape save function (a cassette recorder was what the polysix was originally designed for), then load the saved patches from the tape into the other polysix, again using the tape load function. (Note that this will overwrite the patches on the destination polysix so you'd want to save those first onto another tape, if you wanted to keep those also). The polysix user's manual also covers this of course, if you can locate a PDF on the internet someplace.
Thank you but i meant from polysix to polysix...I usually dump the patches to the computer via my audio interface.

Just a thought.. :D
Roland Vp330 mk1.SH101.juno 6.OSCar.ARP odyssey..Tonus 2600..omni.
ms20/50. OBX.
Prophet 5
Wasp.EMS AKS.

User avatar
rhino
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 2611
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 5:00 pm
Real name: bill
Gear: keepers:
Kurzweil K2500x
Ensoniq TS-12
Yamaha SY-99
Alesis QS-8
Roland JD-800
Roland JX-10
Akai AX-80
Ensoniq SQ-80
Korg DSS-1
Moog Mini
Fizmo
Location: kentucky hills

Re: polysix data transfer

Post by rhino » Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:30 pm

Never tried it on a Polysix, but did on a pair of DW8000s - MIDI was out on one. The audio output level was too low to reliably xfer data to the other. You p'bly need to record the data into your computer and play it back into the other synth.
When the wise man points to the stars, the fool looks at the finger.
- Confucius

sam
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1304
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 10:09 pm
Location: Europe

Re: polysix data transfer

Post by sam » Thu Sep 13, 2012 10:01 pm

rhino wrote:Never tried it on a Polysix, but did on a pair of DW8000s - MIDI was out on one. The audio output level was too low to reliably xfer data to the other. You p'bly need to record the data into your computer and play it back into the other synth.
O well just one of those crazy thoughts... :D
Roland Vp330 mk1.SH101.juno 6.OSCar.ARP odyssey..Tonus 2600..omni.
ms20/50. OBX.
Prophet 5
Wasp.EMS AKS.

User avatar
rhino
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 2611
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 5:00 pm
Real name: bill
Gear: keepers:
Kurzweil K2500x
Ensoniq TS-12
Yamaha SY-99
Alesis QS-8
Roland JD-800
Roland JX-10
Akai AX-80
Ensoniq SQ-80
Korg DSS-1
Moog Mini
Fizmo
Location: kentucky hills

Re: polysix data transfer

Post by rhino » Thu Sep 13, 2012 11:03 pm

Not quite as easy as plugging in a cable, but if you had some sort of small audio amp inline...
Maybe one of those tiny guitar amp/plugs used for headphone practice, or pull the guts out of a cheap cassette recorder and re-wire it. Maybe even an old powered computer speaker system.

Have you tried doing it with a cable? If the stars are right it might work - doubts tho'.
When the wise man points to the stars, the fool looks at the finger.
- Confucius

Post Reply