V/hz on the cheap?

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
User avatar
ford442
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 6:43 am
Real name: Noah
Band: Noah Cohn
Location: Nevada City, CA, USA
Contact:

V/hz on the cheap?

Post by ford442 » Sun Sep 16, 2012 3:09 am

hey guys,

i have my friend's old modular system - a PAiA 4700/2700 and as you may know it requires V/hz CV to take any notes... i am frustrated because i have a Doepfer MCV4, Roland SH-101 and Future Retro 777 all of which are CV, but only V/oct as i understand..

i am in the position that i would love to run MIDI out to the old thing to record and play around, but i don't want to invest $250 in a more versatile Kenton or Doepfor box.. I am planning to sell the PAiA anyway i think... so, how could i possibly convert from V/oct to V/hz or make one of my devices do it?

this must have been even more frustrating back in the 70's with the two CV types.. heh..

thanks for any input!
Image

User avatar
Bitexion
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 4230
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 7:43 pm
Gear: Alesis Andromeda A6
Roland D-50
Creamware Minimax
Yamaha DX7s
Analogue Systems modular
Ensoniq SQ-80
Waldorf Blofeld
Location: Drammen, Norway

Re: V/hz on the cheap?

Post by Bitexion » Sun Sep 16, 2012 8:48 pm

Not just two types, there were all kinds of conflicting formats. Moog had their own standard too, like 1.2V/oct.

You could get another cheap analog that runs on V/Hz, like a Yamaha CS-5 or Korg MS-10..
Last edited by Bitexion on Tue Sep 18, 2012 11:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rschnier
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 222
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 4:52 am
Location: USA

Re: V/hz on the cheap?

Post by rschnier » Tue Sep 18, 2012 10:16 pm

http://www.paia.com/midi2cv.asp

Comes v/oct as configured, but the page also states that a v/Hz conversion is available.
-- R.

User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6036
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Logic Pro X

Re: V/hz on the cheap?

Post by meatballfulton » Tue Sep 18, 2012 11:16 pm

The pAiA Fatman synth has V/hz outputs on the front panel.

There are a few others:

MIDImplant

Little MCV
I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.

User avatar
pflosi
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3620
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:14 pm
Gear: more than 150 characters...
Location: zürich
Contact:

Re: V/hz on the cheap?

Post by pflosi » Wed Sep 19, 2012 6:44 am

It's a bit fiddly, but you can also use a linear VCA to convert V/oct to Hz/V...
Bitexion wrote:Moog had their own standard too, like 1.2V/oct.
Isn't that Buchla with 1.2V/oct? Thought Moog was simple V/oct...

User avatar
ford442
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 6:43 am
Real name: Noah
Band: Noah Cohn
Location: Nevada City, CA, USA
Contact:

Re: V/hz on the cheap?

Post by ford442 » Wed Sep 19, 2012 7:13 am

ok.. this is all good info to know.. but i don't think that i will keep the thing long enough to worry any more about it.. i have it's voices working now and it is not something that i have room for in my studio - also i would worry about hurting my speakers with all of these pops and clicks...
Image

User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 5358
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Wurlitzer Opus 1536, Model F, Morovdis Arpeggiator, Maplin My First EQ, Jeff Wayne Thunderchild rack, Thermostat, Buck Owens' Moog.
Location: Cork, Ireland
Contact:

Re: V/hz on the cheap?

Post by madtheory » Wed Sep 19, 2012 7:15 am

I think the Kenton is worth every penny. Check out the features. You get an aux CV for control in addition to trigger and pitch. There's an onboard LFO which you can assign to anything you like. You get every possible note priority and portamento option that was ever useful. IIRC you can clock your SH101 from it while playing the Paia.

Just sayin'...

Post Reply